My little Book Report


The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini:-

A very moving novel about two boys who grow up together in Afghanistan, one boy being the son of the household servant. It’s a story of loyalty and betrayal set within the backdrop of political unrest at the time of Taliban rule.

Faithful Ruslan by Georgi Vladimov:-

A moving and very interesting story about Stalinist Russia from the viewpoint of a Russian guard dog and his unwaivering loyalty to duty after his services become defunct when the prison camp where he worked shuts down. I cried buckets.

Duncton Wood by William Horwood:-

A beautiful, tender novel of love and purity based on an epic battle of good versus evil. Spiritual people will love this story. I sobbed my heart out at the end…again.

Childhood’s End by Arthur C Clarke:-

I am in no way a sci-fi fan but I couldn’t put this book down. A very imaginative but also quite believable story telling of the end of the evolution of humanity as we know it. Can’t help thinking that real Overlords coming to planet Earth sometime soon would not be such a bad thing given the current circumstances.

Familiarity is the Kingdom of the Lost by Dugmore Boetie:-

An auto-biography of a black man living in apartheid Africa. It’s debatable as to how much is true and how much is written purely for dramatic effect as it is very far-fetched at times. All the same, a very funny and clever book. I loved it.

Falling Leaves : The Memoir of an Unwanted Chinese Daughter by Adeline Yen Mah:-

A beautifully written account of the life of a Chinese girl who suffered cruelty and emotional abuse at the hands of her family in spite of which she went on to find happiness and success. Inspiring.

Emma by Jane Austen:-

I’ve read and loved all the Austen novels but this has to be my favorite. It holds all the wit and charm that is so typically Jane Austen but the love story element makes me swoon much more. Was actually quite taken with the endearingly sweet Mr Knightly.

One response to this post.

  1. […] couple of years ago I read a superb book called The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini (my short review here) and I hear that it’s been made into a movie.  Now my usual rule is that I refuse to watch […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

