Clutter


I said I’d be ruthless when I begin packing up to move. I said I’d clear out and get rid of all sorts of clutter that we’ve accumulated over the years. I don’t think it’s going to be quite so easy in practise.

I’ve sentimentally clung on to all kinds of things; boxes full of childrens books, baby toys, cuddly toys, their first outfits. On it goes. Boxes and bin bags stored in the attic or in the garage. I’ve even got two divan drawers full of all their artwork – from their first scribbles on a scrap of paper to works of art that they’ve brought home from playgroup, nursery, reception, school. And all three of my children have got a big cardboard box each in their room crammed with their history…certificates, badges, every school report, birthday cards and so on.

It’s not easy going through all their scribbles, drawings, stuff they’ve made for me, and then scrapping them. My little boy has always had a thing about cutting out and then sticking together and he has always loved to collect assorted packaging and form sculptures with it. (A future architect or engineer perhaps?) I’ve kept nearly everything he’s made.

When I’ve had clear outs before, I’ve given binbags full of books, toys, clothes to various charities but I’m finding it really hard now. Perhaps it’s because my youngest is now six and it’s highly unlikely that I’ll have any more children. Maybe I’m clinging onto their babyness for as long as possible. I can’t even look at photos of them as babies or watch videos of them without crying. Every time!

Husband is just as bad for hoarding stuff. He has collected all kinds of diving gear over the years and believe me, it isn’t easy stuff to store. Huge and bulky drysuits, wetsuits, rope, face masks, helmets, valves, goggles, flippers….and I don’t reckon he’s used any of it to this day! He doesn’t dive recreationally and at work he uses the company equipment. But when I ask him what on earth he is keeping it all for, he is horrified! “Have you any idea how much all that is worth?” is what I get. Well sell it on ebay then!!

We said we would not take clutter to our new house. It’s a brand new house, not even built yet and we said no clutter. Our lives are full of clutter and stress enough. Even the stuff shoved in drawers and cupboards out of sight – we still know it’s there. It still subconsciously affects the psyche (see Feng Shui). I don’t want to go all the way with this minimalism thing. I’m more a “warm and cosy” person. But the clutter has to go. Easier said than done though.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by clare on March 20, 2006 at 11:38 pm

    OH, I SO WISH I COULD HELP YOU, BUT I WOULDN’T KNOW HOW TO DE-CLUTTER. WE HAVE ALWAYS BEEN SO ORGANISED IN OUR HOUSEHOLD. HAVE YOU TRIED THE INTERNET EARTHPAL? THERE MUST BE SITES THERE ABOUT DE-CLUTTERING AND ORGANISING. SORRY I COULDN’T HAVE BEEN OF ANY MORE HELP.

    Reply

  2. You could come over and help….

    Reply

  3. Posted by clare on March 24, 2006 at 10:30 am

    Too busy!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

