Hectic-icity


This bizarre made up (by me I think) word sums up my last two weekends. My kiddies activities take up a lot of our family time and I’ve especially overlapped myself several times in these last two weekends.

Last weekend was my little boy’s rugby tour of which I hesitantly volunteered to be part of. I was totally dreading the thought of standing around freezing cold fields watching my little boy get pushed and shoved around, followed by a long night in a shabby youth hostel, then more standing around in freezing cold fields. As it happened, it was an altogether refreshingly enjoyable experience. We travelled to Settle for our first under 7’s game which we lost but ’twas certainly not an unrespectable defeat. Then off to Kendal Youth Hostel which was surprisingly pleasant and comfortable. We got the largest room with ensuite facilities, much to the annoyance of our co-team members. The night was spent with the kids running riot round the place and the adults sat around drinking beer and wine, telling naughty jokes and playing those board games that just get sillier and sillier. The next day we were off again to Penrith for the final tour games. This was an eye-opener for me because I watched a few games played by the bigger boys and was horrified at the thought of my little boy, one day, taking part in such rough and tough nonsense! Tag rugby is about as much as I can take…standing on the sidelines thinking how cold my son’s hands must be and having to be physically restrained from running onto the pitch to comfort him when watching him bravely fight back the tears after having his foot stamped on by an opposing team players studs. Not good for a soft, mollycoddling mother.

This week my son has just completed a football course run by Team Theme via his school. This he really enjoyed and as a left-hander (left-footer) he was a valued member of the team. Next week, he starts another “club”. This time it’s cricket and apologies in advance to genuine cricket fans but he insists on calling it baseball! I’ll be interested to know how he takes to this cricketing lark because it’s not something he has had experience of until now.

Then there’s his swimming club. He enjoys this very much and is developing his stroke technique very well. All my children have gone through the swimming process because, for obvious reasons, the ability to swim is vital. My main goal has been to just equip them with strong enough swimming abilities to keep them safe and I’ve neither the inclination nor the money to take it to competitive levels. Luckily, the girls have long since lost the interest. Hopefully my son will do likewise.

This weekend just gone brought another manic weekend. My two youngest had three parties between them to go to, I had three lots of viewers round the house so lot’s of frantic tidying up there and I also worked on Saturday.

My youngest daughter does ballet, modern dance and Brownies. My oldest daughter gyms it nearly every night along with hours of intensive study so all in all my purse and my physical/mental stamina are well and truly tested.

All in a weeks work for Mums. So…high fives and mmmwahhh’s to all Mums everywhere.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by clare on April 3, 2006 at 11:40 pm

    EARTHPAL,
    IT SOUNDS LIKE YOUR LOT ARE GIFTED. WE WERE ALL PUT ON THE PLANET FOR GOOD REASON AND IF YOU FEEL YOUR CHILDREN ARE SO CONCIENTIOUS AND ARE PASSIONATE IN WHAT THEY ARE DOING AND IF YOU FEEL THEY COULD GO A LOT FURTHER, DONT LET LACK OF FINANCES STAND IN THEIR WAY… TAP UP GRANDAD, HE’S LOADED!!!

    Reply

  2. Thanks Clare. I'm not implying that they're gifted – just that they enjoy the activities. I feel strongly that such things provide valuable lessons about commitment…not giving up easily. Clubs, activities etc. are also a great social-confidence builder.

    BTW thanks Clare for keeping me company here.  I'm used to talking to myself – hehehe – but still nice to know someone is interested in my ramblings.

    Reply

  3. Posted by clare on April 8, 2006 at 8:34 pm

    I never said I was interested!

    Reply

  4. Lol….

    You know you love me. X

    Reply

  5. Posted by clare on April 11, 2006 at 9:49 am

    w/e

    Reply

Leave a Reply

