Some comedies I like


Having two daughters has exposed me to quite a few American TV sitcoms and I have to say that some of them are really funny and entertaining.

“8 Simple Rules for Dating my Teenage Daughter” is amusing but I prefer the more realistic and true to life “Malcolm in the Middle” which apparently has quite a cult following these days. It relates the manic realities of family life that most people would recognise with uncomfortably close familiarity. No gush and gloss – just a dysfunctional family with a stressed out control-freak of a mother who shouts a lot but gets things done, a dad who gets things wrong but is very loving and a bunch of kids who are constantly arguing and beating hell out of each other. No fairy tale, touchy/feely happy endings that are so typical of the glossy US shows, even a touch of black comedy in there now and then but mostly just typical family life at its most basic, warts and all. Very original and refreshing.

I’ve loved all the Friends series, Becker was very good too and Frasier remains totally unbeatable. I’m often drawn to the medical sitcoms. One of the recent shows “Scrubs” has me in hysterics of laughter but I must mention the UK Channel 4 series called “No Angels”. I’m not sure it falls into the comedy category but it’s very funny and being in healthcare myself I often see things in it that I can recognise.

There are some absolutely great British comedies and some good stuff coming out of the States. Strange given that the Americans are supposed to lack a sense of humour or that it differs so much from British humour that they’re just not at all compatible.

17 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by clare on April 7, 2006 at 10:59 pm

    MALCOLM IN THE MIDDLE HAS TO BE THE BEST OF THE AMERICAN SITCOMS FOR THEIR AGE GROUP! MY 10 YR AND 8YR THINK ITS SO FUNNY. THE PARENTS ARE SOOOOOO… ME AND HIM!

    Reply

  2. Posted by clare on April 8, 2006 at 8:33 pm

    What is your fave comedy of ALL time?

    Reply

  3. Oh gosh! I couldn’t say. So many brilliant ones.

    Here’s a list in no particular order:-
    Father Ted
    The Vicar of Dibley
    Frasier
    Spitting Image
    Fawlty Towers
    Blackadder
    The Office
    Early Doors
    The Young Ones (although I don’t enjoy it as much nowadays whenever I watch repeats)
    Soap

    Probably more but can’t think of them now…I’ve had two glasses of vino.

    Reply

  4. Posted by clare on April 8, 2006 at 9:26 pm

    Yes, I know what you mean about the Young Ones! Just not funny today! Did I ever tell you I gatecrashed Neils wedding at the Savoy? (aka Nigel Planer)

    Reply

  5. Posted by clare on April 8, 2006 at 10:13 pm

    Oh, and my fave part of all Fatherteds is where Dougal wakes up 5 mins after he fell asleep and stretches!!!He tinks its morning……..

    Reply

  6. Yes…brilliant!
    🙂

    Reply

  7. Posted by catboy on April 9, 2006 at 7:14 am

    South Park people!
    Oh, and where is The Simpsons, Amercican Dad, or Family Guy. Cartoons are much better. They’re usually made with less exec interference because less risk (although The Simpsons is a big deal – movie on the way), so they’re less sanitised.
    If anyone had said Friends I would have emailed you the Ebola virus.

    Reply

  8. I never watch South Park, American Dad and Family Guy so I can’t comment but yep, love The Simpsons…it’s brilliant. I never got to see the episode written by and starring our very own genius Ricky Gervais.

    Oh and erm…I do like Friends.

    Running away now as fast as I can……

    Reply

  9. Posted by catboy on April 9, 2006 at 9:11 am

    I loved the episode of South Park when Puff Daddy Combes shot a camp full of PETA protesters with machine guns. Watching those bunny-huggers get peppered with sub-machine fire almost brought a tear to my eye. I was so proud of the hombre.

    BTW email on its way to you.

    Reply

  10. Posted by catboy on April 9, 2006 at 9:16 am

    This is will tell you everything you need to know about South Park, PETA, and democracy.

    Try and be brave. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nrU1j7w2wOI&search=peta%20south%20park

    Reply

  11. OMGawsh!!! Now that did need a warning!

    I was appreciating the democracy message until the Peta massacre happened.

    Seriously though, some people believe that voting should be compulsory but that’s an oxymoronic view…in my view of course.

    Will look out for South Park though. Methinks I will appreciate it’s humour.

    Reply

  12. Thanks. Tried to watch it but it wouldn’t play properly. Will keep trying.

    Reply

  13. Posted by catboy on April 9, 2006 at 9:15 pm

    The site is bugged. They’re working on it.

    diff episode here http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-6380297403101788156&q=south+park&pl=true

    Reply

  14. Lol. Thanks. You sold it to me.

    Red Power! Love it.

    Only thing is..right at the end when Kyle says, “You’re such a manipulative asshole”, I can’t tell what the gingerist kid says back to him and it’s really bugging me.

    Reply

  15. I totally forgot to mention “Red Dwarf”. I watched a repeat of one of the episodes over the weekend. I used to love this comedy and my favorite character was Cat. He was soooo cool. Also loved Kryton. He was a right Tefal Head.

    Reply

  16. Posted by clare on April 17, 2006 at 10:58 pm

    My sister Cath, has all the episodes on vid. I cant watch it ’cause craig Charles irritates me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

