A mum moment


Monday night is my Belly-dancing class and it’s just not getting easier! That sadist teacher of ours really worked us!

My nephew stayed with the children for me and because I knew he would probably spend the whole time on the PS2, quite oblivious to the global!! events going on around him, I gave my kids their bedtime instructions. I knew my eldest daughter would remain in her room…she has a German oral test tomorrow and she’s quite worked up about it so I knew I couldn’t rely on her to tend to them.

I got home at about 9’ish expecting to find every room dynamited and my two youngest still fully dressed and beating hell out of each other.

But…I was very proudly surprised. My ten year old daughter was on the PC. No, not playing games or chatting but doing…maths exercises on the BBC Schools website. She had made supper for herself and her little brother, tended to his bedtime routine…wash, teeth, toilet, story, bed, then she got herself ready for bed and parked herself in front of the PC to practise her maths.

How good is that?

I get things wrong but I’m doing something right.

πŸ™‚

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Supersimm on May 10, 2006 at 7:21 am

    You have got quite of a lot right it appears. Your family seems to be organised and working in harmony.
    Wouldn’t mind seeing the belly dancing though!
    πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Need a bit more practise with the belly dancing before I look authentic.

    I’m not nearly as organised as I sound with the kids, sometimes there’s a lot of disharmony too, especially in the mornings…lol.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Supersimm on May 11, 2006 at 10:52 am

    In most family homes the mornings are chaotic. School run and work etc. etc. It’s nice though to have things run as we planned or at least peaceful sometimes.
    Sill authentic or not, a look at you belly dancing would be good!
    πŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

