Making the most


It's been so lovely and warm today. I've had lot's to do and not enough time to do it in. However, as it's been a gorgeous day and as I've never stopped all day, I made up my mind that I would not let this glorious day slip away from me altogether and so…after dropping my daughter off at Brownies this evening, me and my little boy took ourselves off to the park to play two-man rounders. What is it about kids and field games? Why was I rarely allowed to bat and was stuck with bowling duty for most of the game? My kids make up the rules as they go along so that they're never "out". Manipulative little so and so's aren't they.

Was so lovely looking round at all the people, all the children. Little toddlers running round in their nappies with their milk bottle or iced-lolly melting down their fingers. Kids on bicycles or scooters. Girls skipping along, arm's linked together, best friends forever. Young couples all loved up, smooching along, oblivious to anyone else but themselves. Families sat on picnic blankets…their kids playing football or cricket. Fully grown adults playing with a remote-control racing car which had an irritatingly inappropriate engine noise!!

I love it when my kids get really dirty, sticky and sweaty from play – running around without a care. Then I love getting them in a bath full of bubbles and scrubbing them clean. Then into their pyjama's, all shiny and clean and snug.

I love it when the sun shines. I love all the seasons. There is beauty in them all and probably Autumn would be my favourite if I had to choose…a full and low silver Autumn moon is quite a sight. And Winter…I can remember Christmas 2004 when it snowed on Christmas day we had a mega-snowball fight on the street. Was great fun. Then getting home from visiting family at about 3.pm – dusk time and looking up the lane where we live, the snow had settled evenly, the street lights were on and it looked so lovely and peaceful. But it's just so refreshing and free to go out without a coat after the long, cold Winter. Lovely, warm days are so rare here that we just have to capture them, do something with them, make the most….

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Supersimm on May 11, 2006 at 10:58 am

    Sounds wonderful. Life should really be like that. Pity we have rain clouds now and then.

    Reply

  2. Posted by clare on May 11, 2006 at 7:48 pm

    Loved reading that Earthpal! My favourite season is definitely Summer, but the Spring approach is exciting too!

    Reply

  3. Thanks guys.

    I forgot to mention the freckles. My kids start to get freckles across their nose as soon as the sun shines. And the sun bleaches their hair and they look really healthy.

    Reply

  4. Posted by clare on May 12, 2006 at 9:27 am

    Noticed freckles on No.2 last night! Isn’t it hard to get them to come in when the evenings are so bright? They feel cheated coming in before it goes dark!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

