March of the Penguins


Friday night is pizza and family dvd night in our house and tonight we watched the docu-drama March of the Penguins.

A tender tale of the epic journey that Arctic Penguins make each year against all odds. It's narrated by Morgan Freeman whose unmistakable voice also took us through the inspirational but harrowing story of Andy Dufresne in the brilliant movie The Shawshank Redemption.

Trouble is…the film doesn't spare us the often cruel aspects of mother nature and although there were no graphic details, my little boy was very affected by it. His poor chin wobbled throughout much of the film because he couldn't get ovet the sad parts to enjoy the rest of the film. In fact, when I laughed and cooed over some of the comical antics of the penguin chicks, he accused me of not caring about the poor chick that hadn't survived the harsh storm. (Whoops! Sorry)

But aren't penguins so odd? Really sweet and cuddly but odd. The scenes reminded me of a children's book called Cuddly Dudley. A great book that I have loved reading to all my kids.

We all enjoyed the film. Well….not so sure about me laddo. Too upsetting for him. What do you say to a six year old when he asks – why did the leopard seal eat the mummy penguin? (Whoops! Sorry again)

Anyway, eight out of ten. Maybe nine for the visuals.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by clare on May 13, 2006 at 12:47 am

    He is sooooooo deep, isnt he? Shawshank Redemption was one of the best films I’ve ever seen. Morgan Freeman has to be the best! Million Dollar Baby is also a fave of mine.The only Oscar he ever won……..Should have got one for the S/S Redemption

    Went to see Take That tonight at the Point in Dublin. It was SUPERB!!!!!

    Reply

  2. Yes, brilliant film. Tim Robbins is great in it too.
    I like him anyway because, apart from his talented acting and directing skills, he and his wife Susan Sarandon are both outspoken activists against George Bush and his corrupt administration so of course he’s always going to be in my good books.

    Glad you enjoyed Take That. I’m surprised you actually got in to see them (Boyzone…lol). I heard that Robbie was going to make a surprise appearance at one or two of the Take That concerts.

    Reply

  3. Posted by clare on May 13, 2006 at 10:27 am

    Dont remind me about Boyzone! lol (not MY doing)

    Reply

  4. Tee hee! What a night! And to think…I told half of Lancashire that I was going to meet Konan Reating. The humiliation!!

    Reply

  5. Posted by clare on May 13, 2006 at 10:10 pm

    Who?

    Reply

  6. Precisely!

    Reply

  7. Posted by supersimm on May 14, 2006 at 10:28 am

    Konan Reating? Is he a relation of Connan the Barbarian or just another penguin?

    Reply

  8. Hehehe.

    The spelling mistakes were deliberate and he has the musical talents of a penguin.

    Reply

  9. Posted by clare on May 15, 2006 at 8:27 pm

    Excuse me, Earthpal………….she who thinks Cat Stevens is the Bees Knees!!!!!!!!!
    Anyway, I am a great fan of Pingu, so say sorry…

    Reply

  10. Oh, Pingu is great! My eldest daughter used to love him and she cried whenever he got hurt. She understood everything that he said.

    I can do a great Pingu impression.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

