Spelling Test


Lightning – as in thunder and lightning.

This reminds me of the time my daughter Anna used the word "lightning" in reference to that incredible force of nature that sends huge electrical charges from the sky, in her English comprehension homework. Anna asked me how to spell the word and I told her….l-i-g-h-t-n-i-n-g. No extra 'e' in the middle. Her teacher wrongly corrected the word by crossing through it and writing "lightening" above it. I quickly (and quite smugly I do admit) wrote a note back correcting the teacher.

It's surprising how many people make this mistake.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by clare on May 22, 2006 at 9:29 am

    L-I-G-H-T-E-N-I-N-G

    Reply

  2. Posted by clare on May 22, 2006 at 11:03 am

    METHINKS YOU PURPOSELY WROTE ABOUT LIGHTENING SO THAT I WOULD PICK YOU UP ON YOUR INCORRECT SPELLING……

    Reply

  3. Well I have these fwends who love to try and catch me out.

    You are soooo wrong on this one. Check a dictionary.

    Hahahahahaha!

    Plurp. 

    Reply

  4. Posted by clare on May 22, 2006 at 8:03 pm

    F-R-I-E-N-D-S…………..MMMMMMMMMmmmmwwwwwwaaaaaaaa!

    Reply

  5. Lol. Ya went and got me there, so you did!

    Reply

  6. Posted by clare on May 23, 2006 at 9:23 pm

    To be sure!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

