Pirates of the Caribbean


Dead Man’s Chest

pirates.jpg

I don’t mind admitting that I was quite nervous about seeing this film because I loved the first one so much.  I was afraid that it might not live up to expectations…and that this might somehow take something away from the first one and I would be greatly disappointed.

Those who saw the first Pirates movie cannot possibly forget the impressively grand entrance that Captain Jack Sparrow makes into the film.  Well he didn’t let us down with his entrance into Dead Man’s Chest which wasn’t quite as spectacular but entertaining and original just the same.

 johhny.jpg

I have to say, there were some elements in the film that I was unsure about…parts of it that I couldn’t decide whether I liked or not; some things I thought bordered on the ridiculous and I couldn’t make up my mind whether to just accept them for what they were or stick to my initial feelings that they just didn’t seem right in the film.  Still undecided.  Maybe I was comparing it to the first film too much.

But the film went on and after I got over my indecision (or got used to it/accepted it, whatever), it just got better and better.  It was excellent.  Certainly not as good as the first (are they ever?) but a brilliant and worthy follow-up.  Johnny Depp was totally superb – that’s a given.  The pirates were brilliant and you must look out for the female Caribbean voodoo, witch doctor character.  She was spell-binding (‘scuse the pun haha). But really, she was fascinating.  I wanted to see more of her.

voodoo-woman.jpg

I realised after the film ended that I couldn’t remember seeing Keith Richards who I thought was supposed to play Jack Sparrow’s Dad.  Come to think of it, I don’t think a Jack Sparrow’s Dad was in it at all.  Hmm…some confusion there.

Some scary, jumpy parts in it for my kids.  My daughter watched a good part of it through her fingers and my little boy clung onto my arm all the way through (bear in mind that it is certified 12A).  They said they loved it though.

All in all, a great and entertaining film.  And a clever ending with a little surprise thrown in which left me feeling desperately eager to see the third film.

Leave a Reply

