I Reserve the Right


I reserve the right to be free,
the right to food and water,
the right to shelter.

I reserve the right to look ridiculous,
the right to be embarrassed,
or shy and self-conscious.
I reserve the right to be bold and confident.

I reserve the right to sulk,
the right to be miserable…
to wallow in self-pity
and cry.
I reserve the right to be joyous.

I reserve the right to be happy,
the right to be glad,
to laugh
and be silly.
I reserve the right to look foolish.

I reserve the right to be wrong,
the right to make mistakes,
to change my mind…
regret.
I reserve the right to be content.

I reserve the right to fight my corner,
to defend my rights and fight for justice.
I reserve the right to run away.

I reserve the right to protect my family by any means neccessary,
the right to keep them safe.
I reserve the right to be scared.

I reserve the right to learn,
the right to listen
and to speak.
I reserve the right to be silent.

I reserve the right to feel self-important,
the right to be proud,
self-satisfied…
smug.
I reserve the right to be ashamed of myself.

I reserve the right to be feminine,
the right to glam up,
pile on the lip-gloss…
feel sexy.
I reserve the right to be dowdy.

I reserve the right to be in love,
the right to display my emotion,
to be gushingly romantic.
I reserve the right to be heartbroken.

I reserve the right to crumble,
the right to be defensive,
to be emotionally detached…
build a wall.
I reserve the right to fall in love over and over.

I reserve the right to live in peace,
the right to care,
to campaign
and shout out.
I reserve the right to do nothing.

I reserve the right to be indignant,
the right to be angry…
to be mad
sad
glad
elated
deflated
euphoric
tired
nothing.

I reserve the right to be human.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by misslionheart on August 29, 2006 at 4:40 pm

    Well, if those are your own words, you should copyright it!

    Reply

  2. Posted by misslionheart on August 29, 2006 at 4:41 pm

    Well, if those are your own words, you should copyright it! (Nearly 4,000 hits!)

    Reply

  3. Yes, my words. Just me being pathetically poetic or poetically pathetic. Take your pick.

    Almost 4000 hits? Probably mostly random people searching for other stuff and coming across my blog.

    Reply

  4. Posted by misslionheart on August 30, 2006 at 11:37 am

    so modest! đŸ˜†

    Reply

  5. Posted by babybull40 on November 10, 2006 at 1:54 pm

    That is an amazing piece.. I have a poetry blog and I am always looking for people to add to it. I write all my own material and I have some published on writing.com
    You might want to check it out. my pen name there is babybull. So if you feel the inclination to visit my blog or the link on my blog for thr writing site.. please feel free. If you join writing.com it’s copyrighted there. So take a leap.. I really like you stuff and I’m adding your blog to my favorites list..

    Reply

  6. Thanks Babybull. That’s very kind of you. I’ve had a quick peep at your blog and it looks great. I’ll spend some more time there later tonight when I have more time. And I will check out the site you recommended too.

    Reply

  7. Posted by beisliveate on July 11, 2009 at 1:53 am

    For a second everything went quiet in the cab, then the driver said, “Look mate, don’t ever do that again. You scared the daylights out of me!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

