9/11


I really can’t help but fully agree with this article written by Simon Jenkins in The Guardian. 

I’m really uncomfortable with the repeated images of 9/11 every year at this time. 

I don’t want to watch those planes flying into the buildings again and again.  Some people believe that these images should be shown as a reminder of the horror and of who the enemy is but, as the article states, it just serves to publicise and glorify Bin Laden and the Jihadist cause.  

And I don’t wish to see those poor people jumping from the windows of the tower in a desperate attempt to avoid burning to death.  I don’t want to see all the footage of the people running around frantic.  Not because I’m hiding from it or burying my head away from the reality and the horror of it all.  I just don’t think it serves as a dignified anniversary remembrance for the victims and their families.  And what makes it more distasteful is, as Jenkins similarly points out, all the media outlets are fiercely fighting with each other for the top spot with little thought for sensitivity and genuine commemoration.  And the politicians are as bad.  Exploitation prevails all round.  Profiteering from fear and tragedy is institutional and it’s widely accepted by us. 

9/11 is not an attraction…a Theme Park.  It was a tragic event which should never have happened and should never be forgotten.  But it should be remembered with dignity – quietly and respectfully.

Simon Jenkins is right: “The best way to commemorate 9/11 is with silence. Instead, Bin Laden must be laughing.”

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by misslionheart on September 10, 2006 at 12:44 pm

    I cried hard at those images. They were very sad. I would *never* want to see the footage again. To remember in silence is right.

    Reply

  2. Amen. My youngest is 8, and while I feel that he needs to know that evil is out there, I would like to protect him for a little while longer. Unfortunately, with all the images in the media in these days surrounding the anniversary, protecting him is becoming difficult. Our minister even showed the cover of Time magazine for the children’s story on Sunday. He told the kids – who are all to young to remember the attacks – about all the people who died, etc. I was very uncomfortable with this, as were many others judging by the rustling and murmuring I heard. Anyway, I agree with you.

    Reply

  3. Hi hockamama. Thanks for your input.

    Yes, I think, respectfully, that your Minister was a bit presumptuous by showing that Time magazine to the children of the church. They can only take so much in at such a tender age. It was much the same during the Iraq war with all the uncensored, back to back coverage showing graphic images with very little warning beforehand. Caught me offguard sometimes so my children caught some of the violent scenes of carnage and destruction. It disturbed my little girl for a long time.

    Our children should eventually know about the reality of such things, if only to try to educate them in the ways of peace, but there’s a time and a place and their innocent minds should remain burden-free for as long as possible.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

