Cabbaging


Been busy lying on the sofa in the evenings, catching up with my books (still got lot’s more to get through) and watching movies that I’ve been meaning to see for ages.  So I think I’m almost up-to-date with the films.  Not sure what effect this is having on me though because for the past three nights I’ve had strange dreams about Jonathon Ross!!

Mirage by Bandula Chandraratna which although it didn’t quite live up to my hopes of being a passionately emotional and heart-rending tale of love and tragedy, it is a pure and tender story, refreshingly unpretentious and simplistic in style and I will buy the sequel – An Eye for an Eye.   And, according to the linked review, the two books are to be part of a trilogy.

I am now about halfway through the Ukrainian Tractors novel which I am thoroughly enjoying.  The review says that it would be much easier to appreciate some parts of this book if you happened to be Ukrainian and I think this is a fair comment but not enough to spoil the book in any way.  I love the characters…all of them, in different ways.  The writer has a way of endearing them all towards the reader.  There is one particularly colourful character who is not quite so endearing but, being the woolly-minded liberal that I am, I’m hoping she will be redeemed somehow, perhaps by revealing an unhappy and victimised childhood which would explain her callous and selfish nature.  It’s a very funny story and I find myself chuckling – a lot.  But I am starting to get the feeling that things are going to take a black and sinister turn.  Maybe I’ll be wrong.  We shall see.  The story is also informative and educational in terms of social and political history.

The movies I’ve watched.  Well, there was Crash which I’ve already reviewed and I recently found an old favourite of mine – Beetlejuice, on the bargain shelf which I grabbed.  I watched it with the kids thinking that it was funny rather than frightening from what I could remember of it.  The kids did love it but I happened to notice later that it was certified as a 15!!  And I let my six-year old boy and my ten year old girl watch it!  Well, I haven’t detected any newly emerging psychological hang-up’s so far.

Last night I watched The Constant Gardener.  What a beautiful film.  Tessa (Rachel Weisz), the heroine of the story is just an absolute angel.  And her husband Justin (Ralph Fiennes) simply breaks your heart.  The film reveals some of the nasty elements of the Pharmaceutical giants and their love affair with government (or vice-versa) which will really get your back up.  It tells of the hopelessness of the never-ending struggles of poverty and disease in African life (partly due to the corrupt corporate policies of big business and government).   There is some stunning African photography (I think the correct word is cinematography) and all in all, a lovely but sad film.  I think I will watch this again.

The next film I want to try and catch is Syriana starring George Clooney and Matt Damon.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by misslionheart on September 13, 2006 at 5:43 pm

    You *must* watch ‘Bridges of Madison County’. Are you in Book Club? Maybe we could set one up via Blogworld?

    Reply

  2. I would like to see the “Bridges” film. I must try and get hold of a copy.

    Check out The Constant Gardener when you can. It will make you smile, it will make you angry and it will make you cry. I sobbed buckets.

    Reply

  3. Posted by misslionheart on September 13, 2006 at 8:37 pm

    I know the Constant Gardener…constantly whingeing!(sp)

    Reply

  4. And to add…if there really are people like the ‘Tessa’ character in the world, then the world is not as desolate as I so often think it is.

    Reply

  5. Posted by misslionheart on November 5, 2006 at 10:48 pm

    Perusing your blog tonight, Earthie. Will look out for that vid. Ralph Fiennes (top totty!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

