Dance


“Sing as if no-one is listening.  Dance as if no-one is watching.  Love as if you’ve never been hurt.  Live as if you’ll die today.  Dream as if you’ll live forever.” 

dancing.jpg

Not sure who to credit this to.  Misslionheart sent it to me but she got it from a random blog.  Just though it was sweet.  Especially the dancing bit because I’ve been known, many-a-time, to abandon all self-consciousness and freak out on the dance-floor.  But it must be to music that I really like.

What’s more, if I play music while I’m doing my housework, it takes me ages to finish because I just can’t not dance to some songs.  If it’s a 70’s disco song that happens to be playing such as Don’t Leave Me This Way by Thelma Houston (one of my my mum’s favourite song but she prefers the Harold Melvyn and the Bluenotes version) I do my mad dancing and my little boy calls me a freak (while he’s doing his freaky dancing right next to me!!).   And you should see him get down to his favourite song, All These Things That I’ve Done by The Killers.

My youngest daughter loves to dance too and she is particularly gifted at ballet.  She can often be found in her room with her friends making up dance routines to her favourite pop songs.  And she’s the same at school.  She was upset for a while recently and she told me it was because the girls in her class had made up a dance group, but the rules for joining this group were unacceptable for my daughter in that they were “inappropriate” for her age group.  So she refused to join.  But, my Anna – being who she is, used her diplomatic skills and persuasive charms, to get them them to adapt the rules into ones that she was more comfortable with…that were  more relevant to her age group.  So she’s dancing again.

What would life be like without music?  There would be no dance.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by misslionheart on September 25, 2006 at 10:23 pm

    He he, I can just picture you at home, trying to get your jobs done. Turn the radio off in future…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

