Autumnal Equinox


23rd September 2006 

 r_autumn_l.jpg

Also known as Mabon in the Olde Worlde.

It’s a time of the year when the sun crosses the equator and night and day are both of approximately equal length. A time when we gather our harvests, nature prepares for hibernation and we reflect on the past season.

I love all the seasons.  Beauty and peace, vibrancy and wonder – they all thrive in each of them.  But…if I had to pick a favourite, I think it would be Autumn.  The sun is lower and some of the most amazing sunsets can be seen at this time of the year.  Just last night, me and my little boy saw a gorgeous sky and sunset, so lovely that even my son noticed it and pointed it out before I did.  

The moon, to me, is always at its best at this time of the year too.  There are some lovely evening views of a low, silver moon with clouds stretching across it.

We seem to walk a lot more at this time of the year.  There’s nothing more satisfying, in a mind, body and spirit kind of way, than walking on a crisp and fresh Autumn day, especially when it’s at that mid to late afternoon time of the day.  

Bolton Abbey is a part of the Yorkshire countryside which is wonderful for walking and there are walks for all ages and abilities. They can be as short or as long as you want to make them.  We’ve done them many times and the children love it here.  There are many points of interest on the routes.  (The linked website is very informative).  One particular time when we went there, it was late Autumn, we started out by the priory itself, walked alongside the River Wharf, crossed the bridge to the Cavendish Pavillion and followed the path which took us back to the priory.  It was just after dusk by this time.  The priory itself, although a hauntingly beautiful ruin of a 12th Century Augustinian Priory, is still a “working” parish church.  

I went into the church and experienced what was for me, one of those spiritually defining moments.  Not a religious moment, but yes…spiritual.  It was so peaceful.  Candles were lit and friars music was playing gently in the background.  I sat there and felt a real moment.  It was lovely.

Anyhoo, my usual message…….whatever your spirituality or life ethos happens to be, a merry, peaceful and reflective Autumntide is wished for.  Get out there, walk, don’t let the beauty of this season pass you by.

5 responses to this post.

  1. I really should try not to get my counties mixed up. Bolton Abbey is in North Yorkshire, not Lancashire as I first wrote.

    Reply

  2. Earthpal,

    Thx for chiming in today. Just for the record, it may sound like I’m gay bashing, but I’m not. I have many gay friends and I was really appalled at his reasons for lying and deceiving his wife and his voters. He says he is “gay and proud”. Well, I say he makes the gay community look bad by associating his deceit and lies on the fact that he was gay. Is that fair to the gay community? I think not.

    Reply

  3. Fair enough Albert. Your choice of words (such as faggot) gave the definite impression that you were gay-bashing but I see you’ve cleaned them up.

    Reply

  4. Posted by misslionheart on September 24, 2006 at 12:05 am

    Hello?….. Am i still in Autumnal Equinox?

    Reply

  5. Oops, I’ll have to remember to edit my writing in some other format than directly in the post box. lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

