Veilism…again


I’ve been talking to my eldest daughter about the veil issue and apart from her being totally bored by the whole thing, her take on it is that the veil is an unneccessary garment and she would not like to talk to someone who had their face covered in this way.  She also brought up the security issue and she made some valid points.  

The veil was also being discussed at work today and one person told us of a Head teacher she knew who wouldn’t allow a fully veiled womanwho claimed to be a mother of one of the children there into the school until she saw her face.  I fully accept that this is a fair and neccessary procedure as long as reason and common sense prevails rather than people just tying to prove a point…make a stand.

I’ve noticed that since the Jack Straw comments, more and more Muslim ladies have been seen wearing the veil.  I’ve also been talking to my own Muslim friends about this and although most of them hate the veil, the most common observation by themselves has been that it is the younger Muslims who are adopting the veil and they say that it’s rare to find a woman above the age of forty with a veil.  They actually see it as a normal teenage defiance-against-the-system phase, increasingly so since Mr. Straw’s remarks. 

So…maybe we should be using those same tactics that we use on our teenagers and play it down.  Don’t give it too big a story.  Which means I should stop banging on about it too.  But I live in Jacks constituency and it is a big story here.

 But basically, the mere mention of the word Muslim is all too quickly jumped on these days and frankly, it’s boring.  I know they need representation but my goodness, if ever there was a case of gross overcompensation!

2 responses to this post.

  1. My cousin is a muslim and I remember when she first decided to wear the head scarf. It was strange at first seeing someone who you grew up with take on some major changes. After a while we got used to it and she explained its meaning. I think if everyone knew someone from a different culture it would make things easier, someone you know and trust could explain it to you in your own terms. People are mostly affraid of what they don’t know, take away the unknown, take a way the fear.

    Reply

  2. Spot on. I agree. It’s the unknown that causes much fear and prejudice.

    I once said myself, I’m sure those who are most vehemently against the hijab or the burqa have probably never actually come into contact with a person who wears one or have been deterred from even trying to communicate just by the sight of it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

