Eye Test


Had an eye test the other day. I expected that I would need some new glasses because the two pairs that I have are no longer wearable but I hadn’t expected my prescription to change so I was hoping to get away with buying the same frame design and using my existing lenses.

Unfortunately my eye sight has altered slightly and the lenses alone for my new prescription will cost £270.   The frames that I like are all £150 and above.  There are cheaper ones but being a bit of a fashion victim, I’m pulled towards the designer frames.

Unfortunately, my budget won’t even stretch to the cost of the lenses so my eyes will just have to manage for a bit longer with my old, twisted and bent glasses.

I’m seriously thinking about saving up and having them lasered but I’m wondering…is this an unneccessary use of energy or does more energy go into the manufacturing of glasses?  Which is greener? 

I need a researcher.  Or I need to stop worrying so much.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by misslionheart on October 24, 2006 at 9:56 pm

    Get them lasered Earthie. You know you want to. You look younger without Nash glasses!

    Reply

  2. Those Nash glasses were just awful. Everyone knew they were NHS ones. My first ever pair were Nash ones. My dad wouldn’t pay for a pair because he said I would break them. I was 13 and mortified!! I didn’t need them all the time – just for distance, so I refused to wear them and I just copied from my friends book when we had to copy from the blackboard. I struggled like mad for about a year until my Mum talked my dad into buying me a private ‘pair’ and I chose a really expensive pair – to compensate for my trauma of course. Hehe.

    Reply

  3. Posted by shonafenn on May 27, 2009 at 10:54 am

    Why not try and see (no pun intended!) what you can find on eBay. I have a store in Australia Face Furniture Frames Online and our average price for some pretty cool glasses is about AUD$40! You don’t have to break the bank to get real quality glasses these days!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

