Some Blatant Mum-Boasting


My daughter’s dance school has been holding presentation evenings all this week whereby the classes are demonstrating some of the main things they have learnt over the year. My daughter does ballet and modern dance. Her two demo’s were held on Monday and Tuesday. She was also presented with her ballet certificate from when she gained an *A* in her grade one exam earlier this year.

I have to say, watching my daughter dance, she really is very good. She never faltered. She knew all her steps and she smiled sweetly all the time. She’s also developed enormously in grace and strength and she is very comfortable on stage. She says she feels nervous before she goes on but this is normal – if she didn’t feel those pre-stage nerves, there would be no excitement would there.

Her teacher praises her highly to me, telling me that she is a natural, she has good dance legs and, unlike a lot of her other students, she listens and learns.

Dance is an excellent form of exercise; it’s very good for developing stamina and strength. It requires discipline and commitment and it’s a fun way of learning social skills. And most importantly for us, my daughter loves it.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by misslionheart on November 9, 2006 at 11:41 pm

    Doesn’t it make your heart swell to see them do well in what they love to do? My eldest has a Feis in two weeks. She is having extra lessons and thrives on the hard work it entails. She still practices in the kitchen, which I don’t mind any more! She’ll be wearing the hand-made ‘over the top’ Irish Dance dress you’ve probably seen, with her hair in tight ringlets. She’ll look the part, anyway!

    Reply

  2. Posted by babybull40 on November 11, 2006 at 1:29 pm

    I took ballet and jazz lessons and I always preferred jazz over the ballet curiculum(?)I actually liked ballet but when I was at home practicing I could float like I was on a cloud.. I liked to perform too, although I didn’t like my teacher.. She was very stuck up and strict.. but I learned alot from her and to this day I love to dance.. but not so much ballet..

    Reply

  3. Posted by Janet Harrison on February 9, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    Marvellous weekend, played a French tart in a farce with the local am dram company ( whose said type casting, 50 is the new firtly eh?). ..and after the performacne when I came out to the foyer there he was .. my student son 19, bouquet in hand ,down from Leeds in all that snow.. Just came to see his MUM . Made me sooo happy! and proud. Must have down something right afterall.

    Reply

  4. Ah, very sweet Janet. Thanks for sharing your moment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

