My Tribute




I was in my car with my two youngest children today. We had Radio 1 on (at the insistence of my daughter!!) and the DJ respectfully kept the 11 o clock silence of remembrance. In all honesty I’d temporarily forgotten about it. I was aware earlier of the date and of the moment shortly coming up but then it crept up on me while my mind was elsewhere and if it wasn’t for Radio 1 observing the silence and my kids suddenly going strangely quiet, it would have passed me by.

I say my kids were silent, but my little boy did whisper (very loudly!) twice…”why do we have to be quiet?”  to which my daughter irately whispered back in reply, equally as loud…”because we have to think about everyone who died in the war!”

Bless ’em.

When the two minutes were up, the song Chasing Cars by Snow Patrol played straight in making it very moving moment.

My daughter then went on to explain to her little brother that on the 11th hour of the 11 day of the 11th month we hold a two minute silence for the war dead. I can’t even remember ever explaining all this to her in such detail so she must have been taught about it in school.

With a large lump in my throat I added my own thoughts saying that I remember all the war dead around the world, not just in the two great wars but in all conflicts – past and present. I think about all those young men and women (but let’s face it, it’s mostly men), just normal young men, some very, very young, who never got the chance to meet a girl, fall in love, start a family, pursue a career, see the world….

I also remember all the innocent victims of war – children, women, ordinary citizens caught up in the unfathomable fighting between nations, leaders, sectarian groups.

Isn’t it hard sometimes to stay positive about this world and humanity and the things humans are capable of doing to each other and the planet.

We must keep trying though. The strive for world peace may seem like a futile and naive goal but we must never give up trying.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by babybull40 on November 11, 2006 at 1:23 pm

    hey earthpal, Glad you add a chance to visit my blog..I like this piece you wrote about our war vets. We also remember the ones who returned safely and now they are fewer and fewer each passing year.In canada we have veterans sell poppies. I always buy one and wear it proudly. So let us remember those who are still here,they too fought valiantly for all of us. have a good day and your kids sound so cute…

    Reply

  2. Hey Babybull. Thanks for your comment. You’re right to remember and give thanks to those who fought for us and were lucky enough to get home. Many were wounded…lost limbs etc. but home they came.

    Hope you’ve had a good day yourself and you’re very welcome here. I love your poems on your blog.

    Reply

  3. Posted by spyder on November 12, 2006 at 3:08 am

    The strive for world peace may seem like a futile and naive goal but we must never give up trying.

    How very true, for if we do not have hope, what have we got?

    PS love the Chasing Cars song, a hat-tip to Radio 1 for that wise choice. (tho I must say, I prefer Radio 2 or RTE 2FM [Irish radio station])

    Good to see your still at the blog, hope you and your family are doing well.

    Spyder

    Reply

  4. Hey, Syder. How good it is to hear from you!

    I see your comments on other blogs now and then and I always enjoy reading your views.

    I love the Chasing Cars song too. His voice is so haunting behind the heavy guitar sound. And I do prefer Radio 2 myself too. I listen to the Jeremy Vine show on the way home from work each day. Love Jonathon Ross show on Saturdays too. He’s so cheeky and entertaining.

    The family is fine thanks. And yeah, I’m still blogging away my rants to anyone who’ll listen. It’s my little haven of peace and quiet away from the hecticness of family life.

    Reply

  5. Posted by misslionheart on November 13, 2006 at 10:01 pm

    I watched “Saving Private Ryan” while we were in Bundoran. It was eerie (we were on the seafront!) A *brilliant* film. I’ve watched it three times, but this time, I sat through it from start to finish. The sheer bravery of soldiers everywhere is amazing.

    Reply

  6. Hey you…didn’t know you were back.
    xxx

    Reply

  7. Posted by misslionheart on November 14, 2006 at 8:53 am

    😆

    Reply

Leave a Reply

