Some Guys Have All The Luck!


How good can it get?  My husband, on his way to Equatorial Guinea, was stuck in Madrid for two days because of some mix up at the airport check-in.   Madrid – of all the places to be stuck in and said by many to be one of the most beautiful cities in Europe!

So of course, he and his two work buddies spent the two days (and nights!) sight-seeing and bar-hopping.  And my darling and considerate husband felt the need to call me from every other cafe/bar just to tell me how beautiful, amazing and marvellous the city was and how much I’d love it.  

“Yes, sweetie..enjoy…make the most of it”  said she through tightly gritted teeth and looking out at the miserable grey day.

Should I feel consoled by the fact that he’s now practically imprisoned for a week or two on a volcanic island off the West Coast of Africa with dire warnings that to wander off camp would be gravely dangerous?  No, that would be too mean.

 eg.png

Anyway, he’s so in love with Madrid that he plans to take me there for a romantic weekend break just before Christmas.   Who reckons that when he comes back the moment will be gone? 

To be sure the moment doesn’t get lost, I have every intention of booking an Orient Express break for two – something I quite fancy.  But it doesn’t have to be Madrid.   We’ll cross the channel by ferry and will perhaps do the Paris to Venice run although I’d rather go to Florence than Venice.  But I quite fancy Prague to Vienna.  Yes that would be even better.  I’ve already been to France and Italy.  

Planning it as we speak.  He’d be spluttering into his malamba if he read this.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by misslionheart on November 13, 2006 at 11:55 pm

    woah! Ambitious my friend! 😆

    Reply

  2. I know. Just romanticising as usual. Reality is we can’t afford it. I still need those new glasses!

    Will probably just stay in a cosy little B&B in the Lake District for a couple of days.

    Reply

  3. Posted by misslionheart on November 14, 2006 at 8:51 am

    Well, thats what I’d rather do! (not with *your* husband though!)

    Reply

  4. Posted by misslionheart on November 14, 2006 at 4:44 pm

    Ooops, that wasn’t meant to sound like that!

    Reply

  5. make sure you go to Naturbier in Plaza Santa Ana and have their homemade beer. The best I’ve ever tasted. Their food is not bad either, but nothing like the taste of that natural organic ale.

    Reply

  6. Thanks for the recommendation MrZ. Sounds good. I’ll have another read of your interesting and amusing “Life in Spain” archives too before we go…if we go.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

