Veil


Nooo….don’t switch off. It’s not the niqab issue again.

It’s about my belly-dance class tonight. That dreadful teacher worked us really hard again. She taught us this new hip movement which is an elaboration of a move that I’ve only just mastered and for her sadistic pleasure, she goes and changes it!

We have to swing our hip front to back and then back to front in four counts and this bit I can now do to perfection but then we have to carry on doing this while slowly squatting down on our knees until we’re almost on our ankles. Try it! It’s harder than it sounds!

belly-dance-veil.jpgWe also learnt a new dance using a veil. I love it. It’s really…well – wafty. Lol.  And so slow and sensual. We’ve got a demo coming up shortly and lot’s of practise is needed so this blog may be quiet for a while. And forgive me if I don’t post on other blogs but I am a bit of a perfectionist so I won’t stop until I’ve mastered my dance.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by misslionheart on November 20, 2006 at 11:26 pm

    Dont stop blogging! I *love* the pics…

    Reply

  2. I always wanted to do belly dancing. I thought I might be good at it because I have a little belly. Though that move sounds like you need to be flexible which I’m not. Maybe with pratice I might be. Is it good exercise?

    Reply

  3. Misslionheart, you won’t have to wait long. The demo is tonight. Gulp!

    Hi Pocket, yes, it’s very good exercise. And believe me, there are ladies of all shapes and sizes who do it. It’s good fun and a real self-esteem booster. You can take it seriously or you can just have fun with it…or both.

    Last night we were learning these weird belly-rolls and we had such a laugh. A lot of the moves are like trying to rub your tummy and pat your head at the same time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

