Christmas Tree’s and Punch-up’s!


This weekend, I finally got round to buying our Christmas tree.  It was the right height, it looked green and lush and very bushy and it came with an “excellent needle-retention” promise.

Alas, when we got it into our lounge and cut it free from it’s string bag, it burst out and branched forth into every corner of the room.  It is enormous!  It’s gorgeous and it smells lovely but it blocks out the daylight..entirely!  It will have to go.  Wonder how much I’d get for it on ebay.  They’ll buy absolutely anything on there.  No, it will look nice in the garden. 
There seems to be a bit of a tradition in our house of Christmas tree mishaps.  A few years ago I was driving down the road and the car behind me was pipping and flashing at me with fury and I was totally perplexed because I couldn’t find anything amiss.  When he finally managed to pull up alongside me, I wound my window down and he shouted over to me…”Do you know you’ve got a huge Christmas tree stuck to the back of your exhaust?”

I was mortified!  I’d put the tree on our drive ready for the council people to collect it for recycling and it had somehow (probably something to do with my dodgy reversing technique) got tangled up on the car exhaust and when I drove off, I was totally oblivious to the tree swinging merrily along behind me.

boys-fighting.jpg  Saw two school boys today, looked to be about Year seven which would make them age twelve, having an argument.  One boy started punching the other boy in the head and the face.  The lad was trying to walk off but the other, fist-happy boy kept on after him, throwing vicious punches all the way.  It made me sick.  I stopped the car and leapt out.   I told him to lay off and of course he told me to ‘eff off.  I lost my temper and shouted at him to pack it in and get home.  He did stop then and walked off telling me that the other guy…”shouldn’t bully me at school then!!”  Well, there are always two sides I know, but fists never solve anything and the poor boy was visibly shaken and fighting back the tears. 

Am I too soft?  Boys scrap like this all the time.  I know my brother did.  Come to think of it, my sister had a fair few fights too.  But I never did…apart from with my sister.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Bullying at school and street brawling are rife today the world over. Sometimes I think that the laws applicable to the youth are enacted without a serious consideration. We cannot leave our young at large without any possibility of legally doing something to straighten them. Even verbal chidings are considered untoward and I know of parent whose authority over their children has been weakened.

    Something has to be done to the respect and not leave this question of our children in the hands of unconscious politicians.

    Reply

  2. Posted by misslionheart on December 19, 2006 at 10:30 am

    The thought of any of my children being bullied at school, or anywhere, for that matter, breaks my heart. My girls know of no incidents as yet…touch wood.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

