Executed!


I haven’t caught much of the news over Christmas but I can’t blog and not mention Saddams execution, if only to repeat my mantra that killing does not solve problems.  Of course, I’ll say more than that!  Undoubtedly in my view, the trial should have taken place in the International Court but of course, that would have seen some discomfitting questions arising as to the US connections.  Witnesses and lawyers being bumped off and political interferences from people in high places turned the whole of the court proceedings into a farce.  I truly hope his death doesn’t inflame the political divisions within Iraq but somehow I think it will.  The Ba’athist loyalists are certainly determined to retaliate. 

Let’s remember who empowered Saddam.  Little wonder that the US wanted this over and done.  I’ll repeat that I welcomed the guilty verdict against the brute but this is no victory for justice.  If it was, the CIA regime, along with the Bush/Blair admin. would also have been toppled.  

14 responses to this post.

  1. I found it chilling watching some of the video on BBC. They were preparing Saddam for hanging. What got me was the clash of the casual approach, against the hooded men and all of this happening in a grubby little backroom, which looked like someone’s garage. Quite surreal!

    Reply

  2. The death penalty. Is it possible that those who apply it do not get haunted in their dreams? Is it possible that they must kill a human being because that human being also killed?.

    A death penalty after a farcical trial is more or less a murder, let me say.

    Reply

  3. I know this will come out sounding strange but here goes. I felt sad when I read that Saddam had been executed. I know he was a tyrant but he was still a human being and it saddens me that someone who impacted the world (in bad way of course) could have there life ended while the western world is almost totally oblivious. He probably wasn’t always bad, he was someones son, father and now he is gone. It also makes me wonder will society learn from this or will we go around in the same vicious circle repeating horrible mistakes?

    Reply

  4. Matt, I saw some footage last night and you’re right. It was chilling. But didn’t he look ever so calm! Very strange.

    Jose and Pocket, I agree with you both. You’re right Pocket…and what’s sad is that I don’t believe we will learn from this. We need to get right out of this culture of killing but we won’t. Too many people believe it solves problems but has it ever solved anything? No. It just keeps the cycle of vengeance and death turning.

    Reply

  5. At the end of the day though, it’s certainly a great advert for the ‘freedom and democracy’ that Bush and Blair (don’t forget our dear Prime Minister) promised to bring to Iraq isn’t it?

    That’s the government that we invaded Iraq in order to install? That mob of guys in black balaclavas waving a noose?

    That’s what ‘bringing freedom and democracy’ to a country looks like these days?

    That’s what Bush and Blair lied so much and killed so many thousands of people to achieve?

    Grainy footage of a chanting mob of hooded fanatics stringing up an (embarassingly brave) old man, in what appears to be an abandoned garage?

    God help us.

    Reply

  6. Spot on Caractacus.

    And to think – George Bush described the event as an important milestone on Iraq’s path to democracy. Staggering stuff! He really can’t see the irony.

    Reply

  7. I don’t think he does irony 🙂

    Reply

  8. To do irony properly you have to have a sort of multi-faceted view, if you see what I mean? You need to be able to see how it looks from the other side.

    I think he just sees the other side (that’d be us by the way, like your blog) as plain evil.

    Reply

  9. Yes, Georgie-boy can’t think out of the box. He’s not capable of thinking on several levels. He struggles to think on the one level.

    Just popped onto your blog too and I notice it’s pretty new. It’s very good. I really like your “Manhood” post about the execution. I will read and comment in greater detail tomorrow because I musn’t miss tonight’s last ever episode of The Vicar of Dibley. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Quite undertandable. If I had a TV I’d probably be watching it too 🙂

    I’d welcome your comments. As you noticed, I only started up a couple of days ago. I’ve been posting about this kind of stuff on Urban 75 for the past 5 years though, and some of what you see there is reworked from a fairly extensive ‘back catalogue’.

    Not the Saddam post or the review of 2006, but the other stuff. So I’m going to be producing a fair bit of material over the next few months simply by reworking a fairly massive amount of that old stuff. In addition to any responses to current events.

    I appreciate your feedback. Thanks 🙂

    Reply

  11. It was sad in a way, not because he died, because he certainly deserved that – but there is no pleasure to be taken from the death of another, and when that death is a ritualistic and humiliating execution it leaves a nasty taste, however horrid the fellow was.

    I felt no such sadness when his ghastly sons were gunned down in battle – it is the nature of execution itself, rather than the death, that feels so uncomfortable.

    Reply

  12. You’re welcome Caractacus. I’ve put your blog on my blogroll. I’m really impressed.

    MrZ, I hear what you’re saying. I only hope that the families of his victims can feel some closure from his execution but sadly, the culture of violence will live on.

    Reply

  13. Thanks earthpal. I’ve done the same with your (I already had it linked in fact, I’ve enjoyed it)

    Reply

  14. Hi Earthpal, Thanks for your comment on my blog. Good to see others who belive killing is not the answer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

