Kitchen Garden


tomato.jpg 

It’s an ambition of mine to become self-sufficient in organic vegetables and I’m determined to get cracking now that the pile of rubble at the back of our house (of which the builder described as “landscaped”) has been treated and part-turfed.  

I’ve been putting it off for a while because of my defeatist attitude towards newly-grown crops and the trampling of football feet and outdoor toys.  And my kids also like plenty of space to run around.  But I’ve decided that I really can’t wait till they’re all grown up so I will start out small and will get them involved in the digging, planting, growing etc. with the hope that if it’s their project…their hard labour, they will tend to their *patch* responsibly and with care.  They’ll certainly enjoy all the mess.  Many salad vegetables can be grown in containers or hanging baskets anyway so I may concentrate on this type of veg initially as they can be mostly kept out of the reach of destructive kidsplay. 

There’s also no substitute for the taste of freshly cut herbs so I also plan to get an indoor herb garden going.  My favourite tasting herb is coriander so that will be my priority and also I’ve sent off for an indoor herb tea growing kit.  We’ve grown our own herbs before it’s relatively easy but in addition to culinary herbs, this time I’m going to look into growing medicinal herbs too  (no, not cannabis!  Although it does make a very good painkiller).

coriander.jpg

Gardening is therapeutic and when you relax in your garden after you’ve grafted hard and lovingly tended to it, it really does say thank you.   You sit back with your cool drink, listening to the sounds of La Boheme filtering through your window and stress soon becomes serenity.  Sigh…

Ahh, Spring is looking good.   Snow first of course…I need correct Seasonal order or I’ll twitch!  See above.  😉

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by misslionheart on January 6, 2007 at 12:29 am

    What a lovely post. I can’t wait to see the buds forming on my plants. Isn’t it a feelgood feeling? 😆

    Reply

  2. Yes, and my gardening skills are largely thanks to you.
    xxx

    Reply

  3. Posted by misslionheart on January 6, 2007 at 2:06 pm

    🙄 Who me?

    Reply

  4. Indeed, Earthpal, idyllic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

