Euro-Morrissey?


According to some reports, the great Morrissey from The Smiths may represent the UK at this years Eurovision Song Contest.

Somehow, I don’t think he’s being quite serious.  Although Eurovision would definitely benefit from being injected with some proper music instead of the usual tat.

morrissey2.jpg

Talking of music, I’m off work with a bad cold so I’m listening to some mellow sounds after having Lynard Skynards “Sweet Home Alabama” on repeat play for about half an hour. 😯

6 responses to this post.

  1. It does seem to be serious, but Morrissey is absolutely the wrong choice because his music simply doesn’t fit the Eurovision profile.

    If we’re going to use a star performer, which feels a bit like cheating, then better someone who makes singalong chorusy music with soppy lyrics – how about Take That?

    Reply

  2. I LOVE Eurovision. Me and my old housemates use to watch it together and make it into a drinking game. It was so much fun. The German enteries are always the funniest and I mean funny haha

    Reply

  3. Yes, the Germans don’t seem to take it at all seriously. At least I assume they’re joking.

    I like Eurovision too, in a tongue-in-cheek sort of way, and I also like Morrissey, but it doesn’t follow that one would be right for the other.

    Reply

  4. Posted by misslionheart on January 12, 2007 at 11:10 am

    I’d heard the Morrissey thing here, too. can’t imagine what he’ll come up with!

    Reply

  5. Pocket, we love it too. Me and my younger daughter make a big evening of it. it’s great fun, if only to laugh at the some of that dreadful talent.

    Yes, I think MrZ’s right. Morrissey would raise the standard of the contest which means it would lose its cringe factor and the *big cringe* is what makes it such fun to watch.

    MissLionheart, I wonder if Morrissey’s comments about the Eurovision were meant slightly mockingly and have just been spun by the press.

    Reply

  6. Posted by misslionheart on January 13, 2007 at 12:15 pm

    Hope so! 😆

    Reply

Leave a Reply

