Tripe and Quorn


Today’s staffroom chat was a bit more light-hearted….in a vomit-inducing kinda way!

I like Quorn and me and my work-friend were discussing the assets of this in vegetarian cooking.   But the other girls – the non-veggies – can’t stand the stuff…. “It’s just not the same as meat.”  Well no….that’s because it isn’t meat. 

Most of the girls I work with are big meat-eaters and one particular woman likes her meat to come practically raw.   When we have meals out together I call her a werewolf as I watch her tucking into a full half of a cow. 

We got on to the things our parents used to eat such as tripe and black-puddings.  Nothing of the animal got wasted then.  One girl told us she used to eat pigs-trotters – that it was her Friday night treat.  I’m still not sure if she was serious or not. 

My own father used to eat tripe with salad.  I remember he would put loads of salt and vinegar over it.  He once gave me a taste and it made me retch.  But it made me physically sick when my mum told me that it was actually cows stomach!  He also had a repulsive delectation for black puddings.  Black puddings!  They basically consist of little more than a bunch of blood clots!!

I know…a starving person will eat anything. 

But would you eat  black-pudding.jpg by choice?

Or  tripe.jpg?

14 responses to this post.

  1. I was expecting to click onto the beef pattie and have an obese person pop up. :):)

    Reply

  2. LOL. That’s not a bad idea actually. Wish I’d thought of it.

    Reply

  3. Posted by misslionheart on January 17, 2007 at 11:58 pm

    Black pudding. Honest, I would. This is pure coincidence, but I asked Hubs what he fancied for dinner tonight. He looked in the fridge and said, “A fry-up”. That means an Irish breakfast with all the trimmings…
    ~Eggs, ‘rashers’, sausages, beans? not sure but got them anyway, tomatoes, white pudding, black pudding and toast/bread & butter.

    Way to a mans heart…

    Reply

  4. … or a lionheart. 😉

    Reply

  5. I like black pudding. Having gone through two wars I learnt to eat with my taste not my eyes.

    Reply

  6. I don’t like the taste of black pudding Jose. And I don’t like what it consists of. Too much congealed blood for my taste. But, if I was dying from starvation….

    Misslionheart, We have a fry-up now and then but it’s quite a healthy one with fresh juice, grilled veggie or low-fat sausages, grilled lean bacon (for them), mushrooms, poached or scrambled eggs and beans or tomatoes. And toast and tea. Yummy. I’m starving.

    What’s a white pudding btw?

    Reply

  7. Posted by misslionheart on January 18, 2007 at 11:57 pm

  8. Posted by misslionheart on January 19, 2007 at 12:01 am

    Coofee?

    Methinks I meant coffee!

    (delete or the youngest ‘gets it’)

    Reply

  9. Posted by misslionheart on January 19, 2007 at 12:02 am

    I’m listening to your ‘Songspot’ while I surf…….

    Reply

  10. Ah, the same as black puddings but without the blood clots. A slight improvement then. 😉

    Reply

  11. Posted by misslionheart on January 19, 2007 at 10:58 pm

    But the blood clots give you something to chew on….

    Reply

  12. I see nobody speaks of the haggis here. I’ve never tried it, have you?

    Reply

  13. No, I’ve never tried haggis Jose. Never been tempted. Do you know, when I was little girl, I totally believed that haggis really was an animal traditional to Scotland.

    And I still believe in the Loch Ness Monster. Lol.

    Reply

  14. ML, that is disgusting! 😯

    Reply

Leave a Reply

