Book Amnesty


anna-n-josh040.jpg   Very much on the last minute here.  In fact, the moment is almost gone, but I just read about The Early Learning Centre Book Amnesty.  I spotted it on here on AndrewKBrown’s blog and was very impressed with the idea. 

The idea is to take up to ten books that your kids have outgrown down to an Early Learning Centre store and they will pass them on to local children who need them.  What a wonderful idea. 

I’d better be quick and have a sort out.  The Amnesty finishes at the end of this month.

More info here.

It’s funny but I have this really naughty double standard about books.  When my kids have done with their books, apart from particularly special books, I tend to have a clear-out and take them to the charity shop because I feel strongly that books are meant to be read over and over…shared and enjoyed by as many children as possible.  Not discarded or neglected on bookshelves, never to be picked up and read again. 

However, when it comes to my own wonderful and diverse book collection, I am extremely possessive.  I  get very nervous when visitors rummage through my bookshelves.  And if they actually pick a book out to read the blurb, I am hovering behind them with my hand out ready to take the book right off them and return it back in its place.  And I dread those words…”hey, this looks like a great book….”  because I know I’ll be obliged to offer to lend it to them.  Of course, I always do offer  (remember – I’m a wimp)  but I mentally record the date and the title and the borrower and I am totally uneasy until that book is sitting back on my shelf, safe at home again. 

It’s not that I don’t want to share my books.  It’s just that I have really loved most of my books so much that I ….well, I suppose I just get attached, form a bond.   Erm, is this normal?  But if I could be absolutely sure that my books will be returned promptly, I wouldn’t be quite so edgy about lending them.  But they never do come back, do they.  At least, not for ages and ages by which time I’ve had a mental breakdown and the borrower has forgotten who they borrowed it from and has probably passed it on to someone else anyway.  And I can never approach them and ask for the book back because it sounds so petty when they know I’ve read it anyway.

Anyway, there are perfectly well-stocked libraries in every community, in every town. 

4 responses to this post.

  1. I know what you mean. I’m just as possessive with my video collection…

    Reply

  2. I am the same way with my books… they are like my friends! I never keep a book I didnt love. If I didnt LOVE it I give it away or stick it on ebay.

    My 12 year old came home the other day from school absolutely LIVID! He is a huge reader as well and the librarian wouldnt let him take out a book that is usually reserved for older kids… I have to admit that I was pissed too – noone is going to censor my kid’s reading… So I went out and bought it for him and sent a sticky sweet email to the librarian… she got the point.

    Read America… READ!

    Reply

  3. I have read all my life. Any kind of reading. I have read books that have pleased me very much and others that I didn’t like, but I have always kept the ones and the others because I’ve come to realise that after a time tastes about books change and you may get to like those you didn’t. And I can assure you my children who have inherited my books already, are inveterate readers.

    A good book is a treasure.

    Reply

  4. Misslionheart, hehehe!

    Blueseaglass, I’m the same. If I haven’t enjoyed a book, then I’ll get rid of it. It’s the ones that I’ve loved that I treasure. But Jose makes a good point in that our tastes change as we get older so maybe I should buy more bookshelves and start keeping them all.

    Jose, my children all love to read too. My daughter is currently reading Black Beauty by Anna Sewell and she can’t put it down. I was the same. My mum’s frineds used to say they could always find me with my head in a book.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

