Earthpal?


I chose the name Earthpal when I first started getting involved with discussions, debates (and raging arguments) on MSN political forums.  I wanted something that would immediately tell the internet folk what I am about and of my affinity with all things Earthy.  Earthpal was the best option I could get out of MSN.

But recently, I’ve been thinking that it sounds a touch boyish.  And as if to confirm this, a co-blogger today mistook me for being male.  Well, of course, my delicate feminine feelings took a blow.  I always thought I wrote like a female, if indeed there actually is a male and female style of writing in this somewhat genderless and anonymous world of the internet.  But it would seem that maybe I don’t – and it would seem that maybe there is.

Obviously, being a strong, feminine woman who is (ahem) at ease with her gender and her sexuality…and is well aware of womens rights and capabilities in the world, such trifles shouldn’t bother me.  But I’m proud of being a woman and the sensitive, feminine and yes, sexist side in me is uncomfortable thinking that bloggers out there may assume I’m a male.

I was seriously thinking of changing my name to something that would leave no doubt as to my gender and here are a few I thought up earlier: 

These are (this is) the result of my limited imagination left to it’s own devices:- 

  • EarthMiss

And here are some more with a little help from google:- 

  • Adamena: daughter of the Earth (relating to the Earth again)

  • Kachina: sacred dancer (reflecting my love of dance)

  • Tivona: lover of nature (again earth/nature)

  • Donella: dark haired elfin girl  (fits me perfectly!   Elfin – small and charmingly spritely, merry, or mischievous (and I’m dark-haired!)).

And – this was fun…

…you type in your real name here and it gives you your Magickal Fairy name.  Mine is…

  • Juniper Goblindancer

She is a bringer of riches and wealth.

She lives in clear-headed pine forests.

She is only seen when the bees swarm and the crickets chirrup.

She wears purple juniper colours. She has gentle green wings like a butterfly.

Well, as I’m not about to start typing my blog posts in pretty pink font and signing off with pursed-lip smileys smacking kisses at you guys and girls…and those options above are just a bit of fun,  I’m afraid all I can do is announce that this wimpy, touchy, sensitive female wants you all to know…Earthpal is female.

And so, I’ll finish off with a superb favourite poem of mine entitled Phenomenal Woman written by the wonderfully feminine poet Maya Angelou:

Pretty women wonder where my secret lies
I’m not cute or built to suit a model’s fashion size
But when I start to tell them
They think I’m telling lies.
I say
It’s in the reach of my arms
The span of my hips
The stride of my steps
The curl of my lips.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally
Phenomenal woman
That’s me.

I walk into a room
Just as cool as you please
And to a man
The fellows stand or
Fall down on their knees
Then they swarm around me
A hive of honey bees.
I say
It’s the fire in my eyes
And the flash of my teeth
The swing of my waist
And the joy in my feet.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally
Phenomenal woman
That’s me.

Men themselves have wondered
What they see in me
They try so much
But they can’t touch
My inner mystery.
When I try to show them
They say they still can’t see.
I say
It’s in the arch of my back
The sun of my smile
The ride of my breasts
The grace of my style.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally
Phenomenal woman
That’s me.

Now you understand
Just why my head’s not bowed
I don’t shout or jump about
Or have to talk real loud
When you see me passing
It ought to make you proud.
I say
It’s in the click of my heels
The bend of my hair
The palm of my hand
The need for my care.
‘Cause I’m a woman
Phenomenally
Phenomenal woman
That’s me.

http://www.feminist.com/resources/artspeech/insp/maya.htm

9 responses to this post.

  1. Hello,

    I have an urgent call to action for our UK blogging, media and activist friends.

    There is a Canadian Exxon-funded think tank readying to launch an attack on the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) report on Monday, Feb. 5th at 10am at the Atrium Restaurant (across from the Houses of Parliament, Four Millbank, Westminster.

    Here’s the info, with backgrounders on the group, we need people down there to get out the message about who these guys really are.

    http://www.desmogblog.com/fraser-institute-ipcc-london-report

    I’m live halfway around the world (in Canada) and cannot attend. If even just 5 people to print off copies of the briefing note I have prepared and be there to hand it out to meeting — anybody can go. And, trust me, you will really be making a difference.

    Here’s a PDF of the briefing note: http://www.desmogblog.com/sites/beta.desmogblog.com/files/DeSmogBlog%20note%20on%20the%20fraser%20institute.pdf

    Contact me at kevin@desmogblog.com if you want more information.

    Regards,

    Kevin

    Reply

  2. Oh! Earthpal! How can anyone with a clear perception of life may ever doubt you are someone from the sex opposite to the one of those whose mentalities are rather those of irrational feelings?

    Your sensitivy is really above consideration and from this tiny place in the eastern Atlantic I move that you keep your name which to me has become synonym to femaleness.

    You should not change, it is the others who should.

    Reply

  3. Jose, you’re very kind. Thank you.

    Reply

  4. Here, here! 😆

    Reply

  5. Whatever you are comfortable with seems to make sense to me. Love the poem. 🙂

    Reply

  6. I think it is quite obvious you are female from your other posts. Not many males I know crave wine and choclates while watching comfort TV or go belly dancing. I like the name Earthpal I think is neutral like the earth who says the Earth has to be female, as far as I now both sexes have equal participation in creation.

    Reply

  7. Matt, yes, it’s a great poem for femininity. Maya is a brilliant poet and writer. Well worth looking up. Maybe Pocket could review some of her work. She wrote an autobiography called “I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings”. She also wrote a poem of the same name. The poem is lovely but I’ve never read the book. It’s on my list of “books to read before I die”.

    Pocket, you’re right. The belly-dancing posts should have been a dead giveaway…lol. He musn’t read my blog much.

    Yes, Earthpal is staying.

    Thanks for the feedback. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Hi Earthpal – I too think your name is great – you chose it for a reason and shouldn’t let any one else’s ignorance change that! So there. Having said that, Adamena is quite beautiful!!
    Take it easy, Eco 🙂

    Reply

  9. Hi Eco. Thanks for that. Earthpal is staying.

    Yes, Adamena is nice isn’t it. I like Tivona too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

