Random Entry


Stopped off work yesterday because middle child was poorly and it was actually really quite a nice day.  We snuggled up on the sofa together and watched two episodes of  8 Simple Rules…”.  then me little sweetie fell asleep so I decided to snatch the opportunity to tidy her room. 

Now my two daughters, you must understand, are the untidiest of creatures.  Their bedrooms are in a permanent state of disarray.   I mean that.  I am far too ashamed to go into any gory details except to say they have way too much stuff and they-do-not-look-after-it.

For most of the time I can turn a blind eye, avert my homekeeping eye, talk myself into believing it’s a creative thing…an outward expression.  But every now and then, probably due to the monthly thing, I brave it out and go forth into their rooms.  And I lose it.  I yell.  I threaten to leave and tell them they will one day see my face on the side of a milk carton…”devoted mum – went out to buy a loaf of bread and hasn’t been seen since.”  which is really quite bad because one day I might have an accident and never come back and they will be forever burdened with those last words from me. [note to self: must not ever again behave like a teenager, have a tantrum and threaten to leave home]

Anyway, Sunday was one such “monthly” day.  And I had a flip out!  So, having a day off work and feeling the heavy aftermath of motherly guilt due to all the yelling I did, I seized the chance while middle child was sleeping and took on the deathly task of tidying her room.

But listen.  Is this normal?  I do it every time.  When I clear out or tidy up my kids rooms, I always…ALWAYS cry.  I play music and I cry.  It’s on account of all their stuff.  Their little possessions that they’ve held onto.  Pictures, diaries, baby toys, drawings.  Gifts from me, little notes…messages.

Anyhoo, I eventually finished, eyes swollen, nose runny.  And middle child now has a spotless bedroom which will last for all of a day if I’m lucky.

And I did it all while listening to my current favourite bands…The Decemberists and The Cranberries.  The Cranberries I am just revisiting.   And the every excellent The Decemberists I have recently discovered and I love them.  My favourite songs of the moment by them are July, July, July and Sixteen Military Wives

Sixteen military wives
Thirty-two softly focused, brightly-colored eyes
Staring at the natural tan
Of thirty-two gently clenching, wrinkled little hands

Seventeen company men
Out of which only twelve will make it back again
Sergeant sends a letter to five military wives
His tears drip down from ten little eyes

Cheer them on to their rivals
Cause America can
And America can’t say no
And America does
If America says it’s so
It’s so
And the anchorperson on t.v.
Goes la-di-da-di-da

Fifteen celebrity minds
Leading their fifteen sordid, wretched, checkered lives
Will they find their solution in time?
Using fifteen pristine moderate liberal minds

Eighteen academy chairs
Out of which only seven really even care
Doling out a garland to five celebrity minds
They’re humbly taken by surprise

Cheer them on to their rivals
Cause America can
And America can’t say no
And America does
If America says it’s so
It’s so
And the anchorperson on t.v.
Goes la-di-da-di-da-didi-didi-da
La-di-da-di-da-didi-didi-da

Fourteen cannibal kings
Wondering blithely what the dinner bell will bring
Fifteen celebrity minds
Served in a leafy bed of sixteen military wives

Cheer them on to their rivals
Cause America can
And America can’t say no
And America does
If America says it’s so
It’s so
And the anchorperson on t.v.
Goes la-di-da-di-da-didi-didi-da
La-di-da-di-da-didi-didi-da  

10 responses to this post.

  1. Howdy E.P.,

    OK, that is officially my new favorite song. I am sad to say this band is new to me. Where have I been? I’m slipping, I’m losing it as I eek into my thirties I think. I do think I heard it talked about out there in the ether though, so there is hope, and now of course it is your wonderful suggestion here on your blog. I will have to go get the album now.
    Fantastic, who says there aren’t good protest songs out there anymore? I’m mean, it ain’t Dylan, but it is interesting and catchy as hell.
    And oh yes, you are a terribly wonderful mother you are earthpal! They are lucky to have you, just let ’em catch you crying.
    Cheers

    Reply

  2. As I meant to say, just “don’t” let ’em catch you crying, but now that I think about it, it doesn’t really matter does it? 😉

    Reply

  3. Hey Loneranger and thank you very muchly. That’s really sweet and kind.

    Yes…The Decemberists, aren’t they just great! I’m so glad I stumbled accross them. Enjoy!

    Welcome back from your music trip too. It sounded wonderful. Would love to hear it if it does get broadcast on the net.

    Reply

  4. MissyL..ya got me that time, so you did.

    I’m just listening to Sons and Daughters by The Decemberists. It’s a track from their album – The Crane Wife. It’s totally brilliant! An anti-war song…

    “Here all the bombs fade away….”

    I just love this band!!

    For your added interest…look this up.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Crane_Wife#Track_listing

    It’s the story of The Crane Wife upon which Colin Meloy wrote the album.

    Reply

  5. Great film clip and a catchy song. I kind of felt sorry for Carl though. I will have to look up some of their songs now. Thanks.

    Reply

  6. I like the phrase: I really wigged out! (Can be used instead of flip out, if you need a bit of variety).

    And yes, i relate to the monthly thing. This is the only time I notice the house and have been known to go into a frenzied cleaning state, which is very unusual. My husband just rolls his eyes.

    If anyone gets in my way and I do throw a tanty, he accuses me of having pmt, and I deny it mid-tanty, only to sheepishly admit that he was right again the following day.

    Reply

  7. Hi Pocket, glad you enjoyed it.

    Bindi, “wigged out” Lol. I think in my mind I use much stronger language when I’m “wigged out”.

    Reply

  8. […] Possums. It seems that many of us have a frantic period of house cleaning once a month coinciding with pms. Do you relate to this or […]

    Reply

  9. […] up the Troops Posted by bindi nestor under older women  Hello Possums. It seems that many of us have a frantic period of house cleaning once a month coinciding with pms. Do you relate to […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

