Blogging our thoughts into the future


I’ve found recently that a lot of women bloggers are celebrating motherhood by paying very moving and heartwarming tributes to their children on their blogs.  I’ve done this myself a number of times here and it’s got me thinking about the future and how our children will feel about all these journal entries when they’re adults…what emotions they’ll experience when reading about themselves in such a deep and personal manner…reading our innermost motherly thoughts…our feelings, our worries, our  little tales of funny or touching moments, things that happened in their childhood, things they said, did, or tried to do. 

My kids love it when I’m sat chatting to other adults and I tell an amusing story about them.  They hover at the door, listening in.  My little boy sometimes gets bashful about it and puts his hand over my mouth as soon as I start to retell a conversation between us but my two daughters love it when I talk about them – about what funny things they might have said or done, both recently or when they were younger. 

The future of blogging is perhaps a bit of an unknown entity in terms of communication and correspondence.  I’m not talking  about the newsblogs or the political blogs, much as I like the idea that they are a great tool for the ordinary person to have their say – citizen journalism and all that.  But I’m referring more to the personal blogs which contain details of individual daily events, intimate stuff and all manner of personal family revelations. 

I guess though that most blogs are anonymous so it might not be much of an impact.  But my own children know about this blog.  They sometimes read it.  Not much but they are aware of it.  I wonder if, in the future when we bloggers are older, our children will read our online journals with self-intrigue and fascination.  And thinking even further into the future, I wonder if, when we’re dead and gone, they will read them cherishingly and with fond and perhaps illuminating memories.

One thing’s for sure, if my mother had kept a blog, it would have been a chance for me to get to know her from an adult perspective.  And I know for sure that I would have cherished her thoughts.

8 responses to this post.

  1. I would have loved to read my mothers too…

    About my blog, there are some things on it that I wouldn’t want them to read until they’re well into adulthood and possibly with an understanding of how telling a story (even if based on real experiences) fictionalizes it to an extent. In life there are no beginnings middles and endings like a true narrative. We have to attend to these and construct them. Whereas I thin of life as more like shifting sand, where one part that moves affects the rest in unknowable and unpredictable ways. Never neatly packaged, always multiple perspectives.

    Reply

  2. I think our children should know what is good about them more than anything else. That will help them to really be good as they build up their personality through life.

    I found out about my parents and grandparents as I grew from my mother and half sister, and everything I was told spoke of their good side, I have always wanted to follow suit all my life.

    Reply

  3. I must add that I am sure as all human beings they also had their not so good side, the problem is always to try to suppress it by overwhelmingly using the good one.

    Reply

  4. Why not start a memory box for each child? .In it, keep a few of their pictures and photo’s (all dated) that were taken of you, Dad and them.Little sayings, stories, gifts..etc.They could decorate the box themselves.Most people start this when they know they are terminally ill, which, i think is too sad a memory.I’m off work this week and after reading this i’m going to do it!!

    Reply

  5. Bindi, great observations of life there. Yes, I understand about you not wanting the kids to read some of your stuff untill they’re mature enough to absorb it appropriately. My own children don’t take much notice of this blog unless they ar around when I’m blogging which is not very often.

    Jose, yes, we always seem to rosily remember the good times more than the bad, apart from any really traumatice events. We remember those in great detail.

    Hiya Mo, good idea there to start a memory box. My kids already have a box of sorts…but with just their own stuff in and nothing of me and their dad. Maybe that can be my school holiday project too. Thanks for the suggestions.

    Reply

  6. I have a box for each child containing the clip from their tummy-button, an unused nappy from their newborn pack, their first vest, scratch-mitts, the woolen caps given at the hospital, plastic name tags, scan photos, you name it!

    Reply

  7. Spellcheck needed! 😉

    Reply

  8. Sigh. Spit it out then.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

