Remembering Bluebell Woods


That most lovely of all wildflowers, Ms Bluebell, is starting to push her beautiful head upward and spring into life.    

 When I was a little girl, there was a place called Bluebell Woods.  I would spend many enchantingly happy hours in Bluebell Woods.   I was a very wistful little girl and the carpet of Bluebells in the shade of the trees was my favourite place to be.  I would read up on the folklore that is said to surround Bluebells and I would create my very own fantasies involving fairies and witches.  Many of my dreams were thought up within those trees and the flowers knew all my deepest desires and wishes.            

And in Springtime, our house was abundant with the pretty flowers.  I would pick handfuls, carry them home by the bundles and proudly present them to my mum who would always gasp with delight and promptly retrieve her assortment of vases and jars to display them in. 

Of course, the Bluebell is now a protected wildflower and it is, quite rightly, illegal to uproot a bulb or damage the flower.  Bluebells grow in ancient woodland and are a vital part of the eco-system.  It’s also vital therefore to prevent our woodlands from disappearing because they are the perfect habitat for Bluebells. 

So, if you come across these vibrant and colourful flowers when you’re out walking, absorb and enjoy their simple beauty.  But leave them be.  T’would not do to damage them.  And, if ye are to believe the folklore, it certainly wouldn’t do to happen upon a chiming Bluebell. 

 

 

10 responses to this post.

  1. Aah, a trip down Memory Lane there. I lived close to the woods in my childhood and would pick lots of bluebells, too. Just as well Mums used to keep jam-jars in those days!

    Reply

  2. Posted by babybull40 on April 24, 2007 at 10:30 pm

    I love when spring arrives and the first glimpse would be the Trilliums that would poke outside for the first taste of spring air..Oh the memories

    Reply

  3. Springtime here is a burst of flowers, wild and cultivated one, from up orchids to down simple daisies, your sight brightens and you see the world through a different prism.

    Incidentally these ups and downs in flowers is determined by their price in the markets, because in actual fact all of them have the same importance in our lives.

    Let us respect them all.

    Reply

  4. There’s a bluebell woods near my childhood home too, lovely in the spring, and great in the winter for sledging between the trees on the slopes.

    Funny how things in your childhood take on so much more meaning than things in adulthood – even though I do much more interesting things now. Douglas Coupland commented on that, I forget the exact quote, but something like … “I could be in a 747 hurtling to the ground shooting heroin with Princess Diana and I wouldn’t feel as much emotion as I did when we stole those apples and ran through those gardens being chased …” or whatever. You get the point, Coupland said it better than that.

    Sad in a way, the conclusion is that as you get older you feel stuff less.

    Reply

  5. MissyL, jam jars. lol. My mum used those too. I used to pick dandelions and daisies for her too. And she would put them all in jars. I remember lot’s of bluebells growing by the side of the road too. And rhubarb…we used to pick the rhubarb and eat it on our way up to D. tower…no fuss about washing it first. Nice, healthy muck. Happy days.

    I would also spend hours making daisy chains. I would have them as necklaces and bangles and me and my best friend would do our daisy dance. I think I was a right proper flower child.

    Hi BB, trilliums are so pretty. The memories indeed.

    Jose, oh definitely. Respect them in their own habitat.

    MrZ, you are so right. Our childhood interpretations are so much better. We lose our imaginations when we grow up. And we definitely become more inhibited.

    Reply

  6. I *love* this post! I want it to go on forever!

    Reply

  7. Oh me too MissyL. I think it’s one of my favourites. I want to wander those woods again and smell the earth.

    See, I’m getting all dreamy and wistful again. Sigh.

    Reply

  8. […] walk, I simply can’t not mention losing myself in Bluebell Woods but I’ve covered that here so I won’t repeat […]

    Reply

  9. This is such a beautiful story that I have included it on my page about Bluebirds. Your story expresses the way I hope to bring the magic of dreams back to children with a woodland setting.

    Reply

  10. Thank you Evelyn. That’s very kind. This is one of my favourite posts.

    I will visit your website. It’s sounds wonderful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

