Political Miaows


Here:  As it widely known now, Brown the Frown is soon to become our Prime Minister.  What I’d like to know is how did we allow a gentleman’s agreement between the two, then shadow MP’s, basically decidyo-brown.jpge who will become our next Prime Minister?   And, he’s had the backing, it would seem, of supporters who have previously spoken badly of him.  What happened to all those MP’s who were supporting Michael Meacher or John McDonnell for the leadership?  All this switching at the last minute?  And no party/union member voting to choose the leadership of a party that is actually in government?  I don’t know why the Labour party just sat back and allowed this transition without any imagination contest.  Maybe they wanted to avoid an ugly dog-fight for the top spot….show a united front and all that.  Not very brave of them though was it.  Nor honest.  Hey ho.  Such is politics. 

He’s made all the predictable pledges…NHS, education, to govern in a different way, restore trust etc.  The usual rhetoric.  Of course, I do like the promise of five Eco-towns to be built and I hope he delivers on this. 

And like many others, I’m also wondering how his relationship with George Bush will evolve.  How does  Yo! Brown!  sound?

*

There: As if to confirm my feelings of complete and utter disdain for George (enjun’s runnin’ but ain’t nobody drivin’) Bush, he went and held a personal Blair/Bush love-fest this week in his Rose bush Garden for the press.  Well, I suppose it’s understandable.  After all, they’ve only got each other now?

Oh, the cringe!  Much as I detest the man, I was praying to the gods that he would find a brain and answer the press questions with at least the teeniest smudging of luminosity, if only to stop me from cringing so much.  But no.  His responses were Bush-typical grunts and smirks – and smugness amidst the usual defensive rhetoric.  And the blind belief that they will be vindicated when history comes to judge.  bush-blair.jpgMethinks they won’t get the chance to pull their tongues out and cry…ner, ner – told you so.     

And Tony Blair – I dislike Tony (Righteousness Incorporated) Blair immensely.  And, at the press conference, he sickeningly and unashamedly adulated Bush in front of the world.  He flattered him, praised his leadership and all but snogged his Texan backside.  And I couldn’t help but notice a marked difference in tone between his speech at the Bush/Blair conference and the resignation speech he made to his constituents just last week which was ever-so-much-more-humble.  One day he’s telling us how he only did what he thought was right at the time (add some fake humility here) and just days later (when he’s safely tucked under Bush’s arm) he’s proudly telling us how he’d do it all again.  Well, Hee Haw!

*

Everywhere:  This year’s G8 summit will take place next month in Heiligendamm, Germany.  There’s nothing I can say about it that’s any more positive than what I said  here last year because sadly, the same still applies.  So I will let Youtube do the talking. 

Here’s the little Youtubey film ~ music provided by the very wonderful REM ~ arguably the best band in the world:

As I raise my head to broadcast my objection
As your latest triumph draws the final straw
Who died and lifted you up to perfection?
And what silenced me is written into law.

I can’t believe where circumstance has thrown me
And I turn my head away
If I look I’m not sure that I could face you.
Not again. not today. not today.

If hatred makes a play on me tomorrow
And forgiveness takes a back seat to revenge
There’s a hurt down deep that has not been corrected.
There’s a voice in me that says you will not win.

And if I ignore the voice inside,
Raise a half glass to my home.
But it’s there that I am most afraid,
And forgetting doesn’t hold. it doesn’t hold.

Now I don’t believe and I never did
That two wrongs make a right.
If the world were filled with the likes of you
Then I’m putting up a fight. I’m putting up a fight.
Putting up a fight. make it right. make it right.

Now love cannot be called into question.
Forgiveness is the only hope I hold.
And love- love will be my strongest weapon.
I do believe that I am not alone.

For this fear will not destroy me.
And the tears that have been shed
It’s knowing now where I am weakest
And the voice in my head. in my head.

Then I raise my voice up higher
And I look you in the eye
And I offer love with one condition.
With conviction, tell me why.
Tell me why.
Tell me why.
Look me in the eye.
Tell me why.

REM: Final Straw

7 responses to this post.

  1. Outrage.

    Doesn’t look like the G8 so-called summit is addressing the ‘peoples’ issues;

    http://www.g8-germany.info/english/index.htm

    Maybe it is they that should be eliminated.

    Reply

  2. Great commentary EP! I’ve been thinking the same things regarding the speeches and their affectations. Thanks for the info regarding Brown and Company, I need to start educating myself more on his politics…
    Cheers

    Reply

  3. Fabulous, Earthpal. About Blair/Brown rigging the succession so freely I’d say that’s an aspect of our democratic system that shows how important electors in general are: no importance at all. With some sweet words these people think everybody is to be happy and wishing them the best for their task.

    Reply

  4. We never get to choose our PM, our “democracy” doesn´t work that way, we get to choose a local MP every few years, or at least we do if we live in a marginal constituency.

    Terrible state of affairs really.

    Labour would have been better having a showdown between Brown and McDonnel, centre against left, “new” against “old” – Brown would have won, he´d be PM – Labour will lose anyway at the next election and potential stars like Alan Johnson will have missed their chance.

    Reply

  5. Hi Matty, outrage indeed. They are ineffective and they are content with that. It’s all about image and what they are seen to be doing.

    Hi Loneranger, thanks. I don’t think Gordon Brown will offer anything that much different than Blair. Just more of the same.

    Hi Jose. Yes, the Blair/Brown thing – democracy took a back seat in my view. All above board but people were denied their voice.

    MrZ ~ yes, you’re right. And we badly need electoral reform.

    What I’m saying is that because the two B’s decided amongst themselves who would be the next leader of the Labour party, with Labour currently being in power, effectively they all but decided who became/becomes PM. This private little arrangement was approved of and endorsed by the rest of the party by their refusal to oppose the Brown camp. Hence, Labour party and union members being denied a democratic leadership election.

    Reply

  6. Over at The Coffee House we’re caught up in a debate with our American brothers about a enacting a worldwide embargo of all US goods & services with immediate effect. And it won’t be lifted until they take action on climate change.

    We figured they’d understand embargo language, as they’re happy to use it against the rest of the world.

    Our American cousins reacting too well 🙂 ;

    http://environmentdebate.wordpress.com/2007/05/22/the-united-states-cultural-nightmare/

    Reply

  7. Matty, will be right over to catch up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

