Eco-Shelves


I was so impressed by this innovative piece of furniture, I just had to share it with you guys.   Inspired by some old floorboards, the lovely and fascinating Aphra Behn got an idea to build a home for her books.  From thereonin, she acquired bits of waste material, worked on them, put them together and eventually came up with the wonderful result below.  You can read here about how she brought it all together. 

What a clever, practical and most artfulsome way to utilise waste. 

aphras-bookcase.jpg

I think it looks great. 

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Luke on September 3, 2007 at 11:43 pm

    It does look good.

    I made all my garden furniture from waste wood and plastic. It looks trendy, it’s fully functional and it was cheap.

    Reply

  2. Interesting. Real time waste management I’d say!

    Innovative ideas (and people) such as these – is the urgent requirement of this Planet – the greatest need of the hour.

    Keep up the good work Aphra Behn !!

    Reply

  3. Well done then Luke.

    Hi Govind. I agree. And urgent is the correct word.

    Reply

  4. It’s awesome, but I would worry about it toppling if I had little ones about.

    The scientifically impossible I do right away
    The spiritually miraculous takes a bit longer

    Reply

  5. Hmm, yes, when my kids were toddlers it would have took a barbed wired, high-voltage fence to stop them from trying to climb up it.

    Reply

  6. Looks kind of seventies … so very trendy these days then. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Yes, very retro.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

