Autumn


The Autumn season is once again upon us and it’s a great time to appreciate and celebrate the fruits that Mother Earth provides in such wonderful abundance.

Today is the day of the Autumnal Equinox – or Mabon as it’s known in the olde worlde.  T’is a multi-faith/secular/pagan celebration and no single religion has the monopoly over this season.

The harvest moon occurs around this time and the farmers are busy gathering in their crops for Winter.  It is said that in the days before electricity, the strong lunar light from the full moon would allow the farmers to work well into the evening.

It’s the time of the year when the sun crosses the equator and night and day are both of approximately equal length.  A time when we gather our harvests, nature prepares for hibernation and we reflect on the past season.

I love all the seasons.  Beauty and peace, vibrancy and wonder – they thrive in each of them.  But if I had to pick a favourite I think it would be Autumn.  The sun is lower and some of the most amazing sunsets can be seen at this time of the year.   

The moon, to me, is always at its best at this time of the year too.  There are some lovely evening views of a low full moon, often with clouds stretching across giving it an eerie but enchanted glow.

We seem to walk a lot more at this time of the year.  There’s nothing more satisfying in a mind, body and spirit kind of way, than walking on a crisp and fresh Autumn day, especially at that mid to late afternoon time of the day. 

And, my usual message :  

Whatever your spirituality or life ethos happens to be, a merry, peaceful and reflective Autumntide is wished for.  Go outside.  Walk.  Don’t let the beauty of this season pass you by.

 

123 responses to this post.

  1. And because I’m such an unimaginative and lazy trout, I reproduced some of this from my Autumn blog message of last year.

    Reply

  2. So is it official? Are we in Autumn now?

    Reply

  3. It’s the time of the year when the sun crosses the equator and night and day are both of approximately equal length.

    Shouldn’t we celebrate the two equinoxes (or is it equinoxii) as “Equality days”, to remind us that we all are indeed equal?

    And just in case we forget, we have the reminder twice a year.

    Reply

  4. Yes, Misslionheart, Autumn is upon us.
    *
    Hey Little Indian, that is a mightily good idea. The sun sets at the Western horizon as the moon rises on the Eastern horizon … and vice versa at this time of the year. Also happens at the Spring equinox.

    “Equality day”. I like that.

    Reply

  5. Yes autumn is also my favourite season. This September has been especially beautiful so far. I’ve been putting off horrible shopping trips to Ikea & the like on the basis of taking advantage of the good weather for recreational days out!

    MissyL I preferred the olives as avatar!

    Reply

  6. Oh, is that what they are! 😐

    Reply

  7. Matty, hmm … a day out at Ikea or an afternoon strolling through some picturesque Autumn woods. Really no contest.

    I prefer the olives too. That eye looks creepy. It’s following me.

    Reply

  8. Yes, I hope MissyL isn’t planning on flirting with that eye … LOL! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Actually, they look like chili’s?

    And MissyL will flirt with anything. 😉

    Reply

  10. I think they are chili. Olives are oblong in shape, nearly round.

    Leaves fall in Autumn to enrichen the soil, winter contributes to their necessary decay and spring to reflourishing, while summer is fundamental for botanical life.

    The universe is so made as to teach us we must not waste a second in our lives in useless, poisoning activities. Unfortunately we, the allegedly rational humans, are the least rational of all living things.

    The earth, the soil is part of our richness. Let’s not spoil it.

    Reply

  11. Beautifully said Jose. We should all be earth pals. 🙂

    Yes they are chillies. Was MissyL trying to tell us she’s hot, hot, hot … 🙂

    Reply

  12. Yes Jose, Matt’s right . . . quite beautifully said.
    My little boy collected those leaves in the picture for his nature table. He displayed them on our outdoor table so I thought it was a great photo opportunity for this post. Although I guess it’s probably a very bad photo from an experts perspective.
    *
    Matt, yes she’s hot stuff indeed.

    Reply

  13. Where’d the olives go?

    Reply

  14. MissyL is up to the devil’s tricks again. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Hey that’s really scary … she’s just changed them back to olives before my very eyes! (runs off at lightening speed into the woods, not daring to look back …) 🙂

    Reply

  16. I’m off to draw an even better one…….

    Reply

  17. Tried to draw a very good spooky ghost. Trouble was, it was so good, you couldn’t actually see it on the paper….

    Look here instead>

    http://tootsie.wordpress.com/2007/09/26/boo/

    Reply

  18. I am really pleased to have this haunt because apart from the interesting, day-to-day issues that are raised, you are quite a wonderful lot!

    Thank you all.

    Reply

  19. Big hug to you Jose.

    Earthpal, your ghost is definitely the best!

    MissyL, you and I need to have a private chat …. 🙂

    Reply

  20. … about your avatar habit.

    LOL.

    I love the witch!

    Reply

  21. Well, when you mentioned my ‘habit’ I went off to dress as a Nun!

    May God forgive me…

    Reply

  22. Nun … OK, I can go with that. They need a bit of a make over after all. You could be inspiration. 😉

    Reply

  23. Jose, thanks. You are a love…xx

    Matt and MissyL – what’s all this about nuns and private chats huh?

    Well if Misslionheart can be a naughty nun, I am going to be a naughty nurse.

    Reply

  24. Go Earthie! You are a naughty girl anyway! 😆

    Reply

  25. Naughty Nurses, Nuns, Cops, Cowboys … come this way;

    🙂

    Reply

  26. Wey Hey!

    😀

    Reply

  27. What? No Policemen? 😦

    Reply

  28. Oh, the policeman’s at the bar …serving up whatever you like. 🙂

    Reply

  29. Yes, yes. We must have policemen. Oink!

    Reply

  30. Then it would have to be my favourite cocktail,(the Against the Wall one)

    Reply

  31. … the club does have rooms for private parties.

    The ‘White Room’ even has its own band;

    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=hR59JTh8S-4

    Just to get things … going.

    Reply

  32. Earthie…come here, ssshhhhhh…
    But methinks Mr Matt is leading us astray. Do you?

    Reply

  33. … astray, oh no, only this way;

    http://worldwindow.wordpress.com/

    🙂

    Reply

  34. So, Autumn! Has the moon not been most beautiful these recent evenings? T’will be ever so lovelisome next week when it is full.

    Ok, boring . . . back to the White Room. Mine’s a Harvey Wall….

    Matty, Brand Baby. Hmm. There really are babies whose parent’s spend a fortune on designer/brand named clothing and accessories for them. Gratuitously excessive in my view. They grow out of them within months.

    Reply

  35. Ain’t it a crazy thing.

    [Minds a whisky on the rocks]

    Reply

  36. That was sooo-o-o good. Now for one of these before we really get down to business… 😉

    Reply

  37. Hmmm …

    You have the SW.

    I’ll have a straight white rum.

    🙂

    Reply

  38. In that case, I’ll go for something much darker and richer

    Please bear with me while I decide……brb

    Reply

  39. Sorry if I seemed to take while, but there was so many to chose from…

    Reply

  40. Naughty!

    Have you left earthpal at the bar …

    Reply

  41. Oops!

    “Earthie, I won’t be a minute”…..

    Give Mr Matt a stiff one, will ya?

    Reply

  42. I did spot this at the bar;

    That’ll do me while a watch the band. Never seen a drummer in a pink dress. Very good she is too. 🙂

    Reply

  43. You guys have been partying without me. Well you can both clean up the mess.

    I go away for one day and I come home to this . . . .

    Reply

  44. All MissyL’s fault. I’m completely innocent.

    Reply

  45. Ok, change of outfit. Let the cleaning begin…

    Are you helping Mr.Matt?!!!

    Reply

  46. Yup, the suns coming up.

    Leave the cleaning to the club!

    Time for some breakfast.

    Shall we stay in Soho or go down to the Thames River?

    🙂

    Reply

  47. Can I come too? I need the break!

    Reply

  48. You were always with us on this virtual Soho club night earhpal, except we appear to have lost you for a while; probably belly dancing on the main dance floor!

    Now, if we could find a place that does excellent freshly squeezed orange juice. Always good for a hangover. Me thinks MissyL must have a hangover after all those interestingly named cocktails. 🙂

    Reply

  49. Mr.Matt, she’s always saying she ‘needs the break!’
    Methinks she just doesn’t want to miss out on anything…

    As for the bellydancing, she’s about to give it up, anyway. Will we move on somewhere else? I’ve done the cleaning…

    Reply

  50. This looks good;

    Mine’s a large cappuccino, a fresh orange juice, scrambled eggs, mushrooms & kippers, french bread.

    Flirting with the idea of a spontaneous flight over to New York for a spot of weekend adventure … it’s Friday after all

    Reply

  51. Oh dear, I was all on for it…the time difference could be a problem….

    Reply

  52. Time difference? You never used to let simple little obstacles get in the way of your quest for fun.

    Reply

  53. True, I’m off to pack…..

    Reply

  54. You’ll need a couple of large suitcases to fit in all those outfits. 🙂

    Wonder if earthpal’s coming. I’m not wheeling around all MissyL’s luggage me-self! Pitty Concorde is no more. Maybe one of the city boy’s private jets will suffice …

    Reply

  55. Yes I’m coming. But I’m not carrying any of MissyMadam’s luggage, that’s for sure.

    Reply

  56. And seeing as this thread has totally forgotten it’s lovely warm Autumnsome topic, I’m ditching any remnants of quality I may have had and I’m going hellbound for 100 comments. The person to post the 100th comment wins a prize.

    Reply

  57. Oh it’s most definitely about Autumn. Have you ever seen Central Park in Autumn? It’s gorgeous!

    OK, I’ve got the tickets. We’re flying a Virgin. Did a favour for one of their ticket staff I met at the club last night and hey presto, cheap first class tickets!

    All aboard gals. MissyL, pack light, you can buy some more outfits in NYC. 🙂

    Reply

  58. Ok, let’s go!

    Reply

  59. Earthpal, where are you…

    … last call for the plane …

    Reply

  60. I’ll come. But only if we can walk through Central Park with our coffee’s-to-go, kicking up the Autumn leaves and taking pictures of the vibrant foliage.

    Oh, and have ourselves a wild night out too of course.

    Reply

  61. Up up and away!

    In 7 hrs we’ll be state side. 🙂

    Reply

  62. Oh no!……..

    Reply

  63. Virgin Atlantica

    Reply

  64. I do write other things on this blog y’know!!!

    Reply

  65. Lol. A cocktail too many.

    Ep, hope you brought ya Blackberry to keep your readers informed!

    That airline dinner was foul. Kitkat?!

    Reply

  66. Those Blackberry things are mightily fine pieces of equipment. I wish I did have one. But I probably wouldn’t know how to use it.

    As for the foul dinner – that’s your own fault for choosing to fly with Richard Greenwash Branson.

    Reply

  67. It was those air hostesses at the club what done it.

    Besides we have first class beds. I’m going to have a little snooze. Only a few hours to JFK, Central Park & Autumn leaves (have you been before btw).

    Reply

  68. KitKat? No Wispa Classic?

    Reply

  69. Those naughty stewards! Lol.

    I’ve never been to America at all. The closest I once got was Barbados which was beautiful.

    No excuse really for not going. I have good friends who live in New England and they are forever trying to get me over. Maybe one day soon.

    Enjoy your zzzzz. Will wake you up with a coawffee and a smoile.

    Reply

  70. Those naughty stewards! Lol.

    I’ve never been to America at all. The closest I once got was Barbados which was beautiful.

    No excuse really for not going. I have good friends who live in New England and they are forever trying to get me over. Maybe one day soon.

    Enjoy your zzzzz. Will wake you up with a coawffee and a smoile.

    Reply

  71. MissyL, I have brought Fox’s classics with me. I know you well.

    Reply

  72. Dudes, wake up, we’re here…

    Reply

  73. Oh,thanks EP! You remembered how I can finish six of ’em off in 0.3 seconds.

    Guess what I brought you…

    Reply

  74. [the three intrepid travellers arrive at their Manhattan apartment in style;

    Hope you like our holiday apartment;
    On 5th Ave with all that shopping!

    Reply

  75. Where did that limo go!

    Reply

  76. Yes MissyL, I remember it well. I had to hide them when I knew you were coming! So what did you buy me? I can’t guess.
    *
    Hey Matt, I’m impressed. You do things in style. I won’t want to go home.

    Reply

  77. Fox’s Classics of course!

    So keep yer b****y little mitts off mine! 😈

    Reply

  78. Now I’m starvin’ !

    Anyone for a Megamac?

    Reply

  79. MacDonald’s!!!!! You should know me better than that! You can have as many grotburgers as you like but my body is not designed for such rubbish.

    We’ll eat here methinks . . .
    http://www.candlecafe.com/reviews.html

    Reply

  80. Actually, I fancy an Indian…

    Reply

  81. Upper East side. Very cool. Veggie no probs with me. MissyL you can surely get your Mac-fix later tonight … between cocktails and a walk across Brooklyn Bridge. 🙂

    Reply

  82. New York clubs cater for all tastes. Have what you like … it’s none of our business!

    Reply

  83. It is my business Matt. She’s my friend and I care about her physical, spiritual and mental well-being and MacDonald’s tosh will do nothing to nurture those things.

    On the other hand . . . sod it. What’s the point? We’ve already broken the golden green rule by flying transAtlantic. We might as well continue our ethics-free holiday.

    Reply

  84. Oh my God, it’s all getting very political.

    Listen Guys, I think I’ll head off to

    http://nymag.com/listings/bar/villard_bar_and_lounge/

    and do my own thing.
    Catch ya later, Dudes

    Reply

  85. Hey ep we need to ring MissyL as the venue she’s headed off to has closed down, according to its website. Shame, looked very ‘intersting’. 🙂

    Let’s meet up here for coffee. Night’s still young;

    Reply

  86. I’m back. Thanks, Mr Matt, I realised when I got there the place was deserted…

    Ok, so how about a skinny latte in Starbucks?

    Where’s the nearest?

    Reply

  87. Huh? You left without me?…

    Are you still in here?

    Reply

  88. First you take us to MacDonald’s and now Starbucks, MissyL!!

    Why don’t we just take a huge picnic basket to Central Park and literally eat out.

    Reply

  89. Phew, found MissyL atop Empire State Building, had great coffee and now here we are finally in Central Park! Shall we picnic at the bench or on the grass?

    Reply

  90. I have a blanket, how about we all go on the ‘grass’….. 😎

    Reply

  91. Hmmm, that smoked salmon with pickle bagel was sure good.

    Hey, someone’s nicking our grapes!

    Some fresh lemonade girls?

    Reply

  92. Yep, love the picnic on the blanket.

    Matty, that picture is soooo cute. Can’t wait to show my kids.

    Reply

  93. You’ll have to email it to them, since as you’re in Central Park ‘n’ all. 😉

    Hey. That’s comment no.100! [He waits expectantly for promised prize 🙂 ]

    Reply

  94. It’s a FIX!

    Reply

  95. MissyL, of course it ws fixed. You didn’t think I’d want to give you the *prize* did you?
    *
    Congratulations Matt! And the good news is . . . you can choose your own prize. Go on. Name it. It’s yours … virtually. 🙂

    Reply

  96. Prize?

    Oh nothing much. But if you could give David a call http://images.businessweek.com/ss/06/06/tech_rockstars/image/david_bowie01.jpg (he lives locally) see if he’s free to play at a little party, say for 200 people, hire a room top of the Empire State building. Good food and booze and …

    I don’t want much me.

    [been a fun virtual trip across the pond – ta muchly! 🙂 ]

    Reply

  97. Consider it done Matt. David owes me a favour or two. Just be sure to invite me to your party.

    The trip was great fun. Do we really have to go home now?

    Reply

  98. So you got the Roseland booked;

    Nice. Well after we’ve enjoyed this party with MissyL, I guess we should return to our nests and our cheeping children. 🙂

    Reply

  99. I’m not coming….

    *Sits in a corner sulking*

    Reply

  100. Oh! Why ever not?

    [gives MissyL a stress relieving massage and a … piece of yummy chocolate]

    Reply

  101. You two should get a room!

    Reply

  102. [gives EP a stress relieving massage and a … piece of yummy chocolate]

    🙂

    Reply

  103. Why, thank ye very muchly kind sir. That hit the spot.

    Reply

  104. *still sulking in the dark feeling cheated* 😦

    Reply

  105. Hey EP, what’s MissyL on about? Maybe it’s she doesn’t wana leave New Yoork. Are we going clubbing tonight before flying back tommorra, cause that might cheer her UP. Venue suggestions MissyL? [as wild as you please 🙂 ]

    Reply

  106. I think she’s sulking because she thinks I fixed it so you could win the 100th comment competition.

    She’ll be out soon – at the mention of a wild night out.

    Reply

  107. Hi yourself.

    *Zapped away*

    Hehehe.

    Happy Days!

    Reply

  108. Hey littleindian, are you in NYC cause I need your help here? These two lively girls are getting all indecisive over a night out. And now they’re trading photos! What’s a boy to do?

    🙂

    Reply

  109. Memories……

    Reply

  110. Departures

    Reply

  111. Hey! Who’s that going home?

    Reply

  112. Me;

    See ya!

    Reply

  113. See you Matty. It was fun. Same time next year?

    Reply

  114. Good idea. Maybe India next Autumn.

    Reply

  115. Let’s make it Ireland, then I won’t need to find a babysitter….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

