Half-term and Stuff!


Today me laddy is eight-years-old and so we will be busy with visitors, parties, toys, pressies, messy stuff, and so on.   Gosh!  I can’t believe it’s been a whole year since I wrote this birthday post.  This morning I still obssessed about the wrapping paper.  Needless to say, it’s not fit for re-use so it’s all bagged up ready for the recycling van. 

(Did I mention that he woke up at 4am and asked if it was time to go downstairs to open his pressies and that every other minute from thereonin he asked . . . “is it time yet?”).

T’is half term so no doubt the kids will be making their usual demands.  Good job I managed to get a couple of days off work (Yay!).  I plan to utilise them to the max.  That means not much computer time.  Quite apart from todays birthday activities, I have three Hallowe’en outfits to produce, a teenage bedroom to burn gut out and tidy, a film to see and lot’s of laundry to … no, scratch that … lot’s of walking to do.  Yes, the weather is just beautiful and I am not going to let a huge pile of smelly clothes get in the way of some wonderful Autumn walks.  

And we are planning to see Stardust this week so I’ll let you know our verdict.  It all looks very glittery and romantic in a swashbuckling kind of way.  Lot’s of top names too. 

And in a moment of what those who know me personally might justifiably say is slight narcissism, I will post you my current favourite song – Valerie sung by Amy Winehouse.  I prefer the original version by The Zutons but this cover has really grown on me:

4 responses to this post.

  1. Very many happy returns of the day for the whole family, may your son get his wishes fulfilled.

    Reply

  2. Happy birthday to the kiddie! I have a boy who is eight (and a half) so I know all about those kinds of parties. Are the kids over there as addicted to Pokémon as the kids in Sweden?

    Reply

  3. Hi earthpal. Have fun and eat lots of cake!

    Its Sally’s eighth birthday tomorrow! (25th)

    Reply

  4. Thanks guys. We had great fun. And there’s no cake left (sobs).

    Happy Birthday to Sally! Another Scorpio.

    Paddy, yes, Pokemon is very popular here too. My two youngest are into Pokemon but the birthday boy is mostly into knights and dragons and dungeons and those barbaric medieval weapons they had back in the dark days. Do you think I should be worried?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

