Haunted House?


Yesterday, my first-born asked me what had been built on the land that our house now occupies before it became our house.  I told her it was unused land.  She said she thinks our house is haunted.  

I asked why she thought that.  We’ve had these conversations before and I was about to give my usual cynical responses . . .  

it’s just your imagination . . . houses make noises all the time . . . when you’re in on your own your mind becomes active . . .  you watch too many horror movies . . . you thought our previous house was haunted too . .

But this time I held back because my daughter is a touchy soul and gets annoyed when I dismiss her thoughts and feelings as the rantings of an overactive teenage imagination that reads too many spooky stories on the internet written by other overactive teenage imaginations. 

So, seizing the opportunity to actually hold a conversation with her, I decided to ‘go with it’ and I encouraged her to elaborate.

She told me that sometimes she hears noises when there’s no-one else in the house.  Noises such as footsteps on the stairs, rustling in the wardrobes – the classic ones.  And sometimes she feels a presence in the room.  The other night she was convinced that someone was sitting on her bed (I remember this; she did actually shout in a panic for me to go up to her because she was so freaked out).  She also mentioned the time when her brother said he saw a ghost in my bedroom (I almost burst out laughing here because I remembered it well.  I even blogged about it here).

Anyway, being of a highly perceptive nature that is (ahem) tuned-in-to-the-supernatural, she sensed my hidden amusement and ended the conversation by loftily informing me that one has to have an open mind to be receptive to these things and that quite clearly my mind is very stubbornly closed and that often it’s children that are best able to sense such things and her two siblings have both also experienced unexplained phenomena in our house so that proves her point.  Hmph!

(Strangely though she used to say our previous house had a presence of some kind or another too, hmm.  T’would seem that the ghouls are following us.)

So, haunted house?  Maybe. 

Possessed kids?  Absolutely!

17 responses to this post.

  1. Never believed in spooks.
    Till not too long ago, i was on call for a small old geriatric hospital. I was the only one in the huge oncall “house”.

    In the middle of the night, I got woken up by noise of shuffling steps in the loft. (An old fashioned spiral stars took you to the loft. I had been to it, it was floorboarded from end to end and completely empty).

    I was suddenly too scared, I just went down to the ward. The staff were surprised to see me, for I hadn’t been called. They said other doctors had said they too heard that noise before.

    I slept in one of the empty side rooms that night. Chicken?
    Too right, I was. 😀

    Reply

  2. Not chicken at all Little Indian. I would have done the same despite my scepticism. Spooky!

    I have to see some proof myself before I can accept the supernatural but that’s not to say there’s no such thing. Many reasonably-minded people have experienced stuff that there is just no down-to-earth explanation for. They don’t make it up.

    Reply

  3. Never had this kind of visions, and my idea always has been that it is a question of overimagination, but I have heard so many narrations of events similar to those you mention that I have turned from unbelieving to being sceptical.

    Reply

  4. Many moons ago a friend of mine was called out in the middle of the night to a small old geriatric hospital to deal with a plague of naughty, noisy rats playing ‘scare the human’ from the loft. One of the funniest jobs he’s ever done! 😉

    Reply

  5. Jose, yes that’s the thing. I can’t bring myself to believe in it but so many rational people say they’ve had experiences and it surely can’t all be imagination.
    *
    Matt, I’m pretty sure those doctors would have known the difference between rats scurrying around and the shuffling of steps. Be cynical at your peril [cue evil laugh].

    Reply

  6. No true story. OK, maybe I dreamt it.

    Reply

  7. This is another episode I have no explanation.

    I was in a lift, going to the topfloor of a hospital.
    As the lift stopped, through the little glass panels I saw an oldish lady waiting for the doors to open. Wrinkled tiny little face and curly greyish hair to her shoulders.

    The doors opened, the corridor stretching to either side was empty. The entrance door at the ends to the wards were both shut. In the few seconds it takes for the lift to open, she couldn’t have legged it that distance of the corridor

    The rest of the corridor was barren. There were no stairwells.

    Reply

  8. Strange stuff Little Indian. My brother-in-law and my father-in-law both say they’ve ‘seen’ what they describe as ghosts. Nobody can ever absolutely rule such things out. There is so much we just don’t know.

    Matty, you’re as bad as me. I confuse half the things that have happened to me with dreams I’ve have. Lol.

    Reply

  9. > The rest of the corridor was barren. There were no stairwells.

    That’s against H&S regs. Spooky ghost!

    Reply

  10. I was driving along one day and a ghost leapt out and said I’d better change my tyres quick. I screeched the car to a halt, got out and looked down only to find my tyres had gone!

    Actually, maybe that was a dream.

    [shuffles off to find anther ghost story]

    Reply

  11. Hey earthPal,
    this will be my last comment on this site.

    I find one of your reader has a problem to the comments I write here.

    His response that are targeted at my comment is childish and irritating and far from being funny.

    I am unable to appreciate or share his sense of humour, which is essentially moronic.

    Reply

  12. Oh dear.

    Little Indian, I’m so sorry you feel offended. I’m really sure it wasn’t intended that way but I have to accept your feelings and your decision and hope that you will come back soon. You are always welcome here, you know that.

    I will still see you on your blog.

    Reply

  13. Little Indian, I’m right with Earthpal. I’m sure there was no offence intended…

    Reply

  14. Yes, Little Indian, I am quite sure there was no offence intended.

    Reply

  15. I’m right with EP, MissyL & Jose. Who’s that Matt guy anyway? Someone told me he’s a kiwi. If that’s true they definitely suffer from a moronic sense of humour BUT, it’s not their fault. They live isolated from the rest of the world with only the Queen to guide them through harsh winters & when the All Blacks lose, which is frequently. Now that’s spooky!

    Little indian. Really, not offence intended. Let me give you a BIG little indian hug. Do you like chocolate …..

    Reply

  16. I value Little Indian’s comments here and I will miss them. I hope he returns.

    Reply

  17. […] I was woken up by my eldest daughter shouting for me.  This is nothing unusual.  I’ve written before about my daughter’s belief that our house is haunted and how she often hears footless […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

