Chad Varah: RIP


Dr Chad Varah, founder of Samaritans charity, died today aged 95.  As you may know, I’m currently training to be a Samaritan listening volunteer so I feel warmly obliged to mention the passing away of the man who began Samaritans in order to “befriend the suicidal and despairing” and who has since provided unprejudiced emotional support to thousands of despairing and distressed people.

“I would not have anyone prudish or preachy because the prudish want to sit in judgment”  Chad Varah

obituary: BBC

Samaritans Press Release

4 responses to this post.

  1. Rest in Peace. 95 years dedicated in their adult part to help is something not everybody will be able to boast of.

    Reply

  2. Amen to that Jose. Thanks.

    Reply

  3. Posted by michael 2 on November 13, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    As a recently accepted listening volunteer let me say I hope you enjoy the experience half as much as I have. Very few people really change peoples lives The rev Chad did including mine. Im sure hes in heaven looking down on the organization

    Reply

  4. Hello Michael.

    Thanks for that. I’m getting a lot of fulfillment from the course. It’s pretty intense. And there have been times when I almost gave it up but I’m glad I didn’t.

    Rev. Chad was a brave and inspiring man.

    Good luck with it all Michael. And thanks for helping out there. We’re all in this often-crazy world together.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

