Stand up on Entry


I was listening to Jeremy Vine’s lunch-time show on Radio 2 today and David Cameron has said, apparently, that he wants school children to stand up whenever a member of staff walks into their classroom.

We had to stand up like this when I was at Primary school and we couldn’t sit back down until the staff member entering the room, or our class teacher, had given us permission to sit back down.  Most teachers would tell us to sit down straight away.  Some of the more open-minded, liberal-types I can recall would try to stop us from standing in the first place.  They would hurriedly say as soon as they opened the door … no, no, don’t stand … knowing what a cumbersome nuisance it all was and we would all usually end up sort of wavering, half-up and half down because we were so militantly trained in this discipline that we could sense the hand on the door handle before it made contact.  So we would almost be on our feet, STANDING to attention, before the staff member had even got through the door!

I remember one time, I was sat at my desk and I had my legs crossed.  But not only were they crossed, the foot of the leg that was draped across was tucked behind my other leg (still with me? I was probably bursting to pee).  A teacher walked in so I hastily tried to de-tangle my legs in order to stand up but there was little room to uncross my legs and – oh! those great gods of mischief-making – I only went and knocked the whole thing over … desk, books, pencils, the lot.  Crash!

It just demonstrates how plain silly it is.

Apparently it’s all about respect and about how kids today have huge discipline issues – it’s about our children needing-to-know-who’s-in-charge.  Well, it’s my view that good teachers would have the ability to show the children who’s in charge without imposing such impractical rules.  Good teachers would earn respect by the quality of their teaching skills and by the level of care and attentiveness they hold towards their pupils.  

And all that standing up and down . . . all that clumsy clattering and clunking of chairs – it’s downright disruptive.  It’s certainly not conducive to good concentration levels during study is it?  I know I’d get pretty fed up if I was in the middle of writing an essay entitled The Rise of Stupidity in the Conservative Party of 2007 and I had to keep standing up every time an adult walked into the room.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Politicians; they sit around their ‘kitchen tables’ mulling over the problems of the day and before you can say ‘organic vege bacon and eggs please miss’ they’ve hatched a plan to discipline kids! Lovely life a politicians.

    Reply

  2. Lol. Yes, this one was probably written on a post-it in a meeting about something entirely different but equally boring.

    Reply

  3. Respect is something that cannot be demanded on any level of our social world. Respect must be won and to attain this the person concerned should be respectful in the first place.

    Preaching with the example is the best way to educate. The most difficult, too.

    Reply

  4. Spot on Jose.

    Yes, the best way is to teach by example.

    Reply

  5. Yes, absolutely right Jose.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

