Movies, Books and Tsunami’s


I’ve been watching movies again.  We went to see Hancock last week.  I’m not inclined to write a review suffice to say we really enjoyed it and Will Smith is just fab . . . and utterly gorgeous. 

I came across Jason and the Argonauts on DVD yesterday and the shop was asking for £3 no less so I snapped it up because it’s one of my childhood favourites and I was wondering what my eight-year-old boy would think of it.  I’m not afraid to admit that I was really scared of that giant metal god who came alive and tried to kill all the argonauts and I could only ever watch the army of menacing skeletons through my fingers (don’t even get me started on Count Dracula and daleks.  I still shiver at the thought).  Anyway, me laddy loved the film but middlie and first-born were both unanimous in their opinion that it was absolutely pathetic and apart from the moments when they took the p$ss and laughed their heads off, they were thoroughly bored throughout the duration – nothing looked real and everything was fake.  I guess my kid’s generation are spoiled by the marvellous advances made in the special effects department but at least my boy is still young enough (or naive enough) to not ‘see the strings’. 

And while I’m trying to entertain bored kids, I’m determined to get through my ever growing books-to-read list.  I’m about half way through reading Khaled Hosseini’s A Thousand Splendid Suns and I am engrossed.  It’s compelling stuff.  The Kite Runner was a literary masterpiece in my view and a very difficult act to follow but his second novel is proving to be as much a masterpiece and I am now a besotted fan of this author.  He writes with a genuine compassion and he cleverly captures the situation in Afghanistan as a vital backdrop to his story-lines, providing revealing glimpses of Afghanistan and the Afghan people, some of which would challenge the pre-conceived opinions of many Westerners.  He also writes from the female perspective with incredible sensitivity and insight.   I haven’t even finished the book yet and I’ve cried twice.  So far so  . . .  stunning.  Both books, strongly recommended.

And while I’m juggling with kids, books and movies, I have to go to work and one of the best things about my job is getting to chat to the patients and hear their stories.  It’s quite remarkable how patients, who are often anxious, vulnerable or downright scared, can still find it within themselves to be polite, to chat, have a laugh and a joke with their co-patients and the staff.  It’s a humbling experience and it can be inspiring too.  

Today I came across a man from Sri Lanka.  He told me that he goes back to Sri Lanka every Winter and spends three months there.  He said that after the Big Wave came, he would see dollies and other toys stuck up in the trees and he would find bones washed up on the shore.  He had tears in his eyes.  He also said the locals told him that hours before the Big Wave came, all the birds disappeared and the elephants that were tied to the trees all broke loose and vanished.  Maybe we don’t need to spend millions of dollars on trying to develop early warning signals.  Maybe we should listen to the animals.  We agreed about the remarkableness of animals to sense these things and that humans had lost their inner connections with nature.  He also asked me if I was of Indian origin . . . ??  Anyway, a very interesting man.

TTFN.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Hi Earthpal, Sounds like you’ve been busy, too. Summer is flying by. But then, I love fall, so that’s all right.

    Reply

  2. We have been observing here how ants have made themselves visible, something unusual in our temperature. There might be a very cold autumn/winter normal people say. Scientists are silent, naturally scientists are far away from people’s habitats, perhaps if they were a little more humane they might also see the ants.

    Changes in habits are very healthy, Earthpal, as I am sure you know.

    And you are a splendid educator.

    Reply

  3. Hey “lovely” Helen. 🙂 I was tempted to do your meme thing but I would only get two words at best (from yourself and Jose I am guessing) and I wouldn’t be wanting to expose my unpopularity now would I. Lol.

    I love Autumn too.

    Hi dear Jose. Wise words. We could learn so much if we learned to listen to the animals and indeed to nature itself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

