It’s ridiculous . . .


. . . the amount of butter I slap onto my crumpet.  First I apply a huge dollop and glide it all over the top till it melts into the little holes.  Then I slap another thick dollop on and bite right into it so that the butter trickles down between my fingers and dribbles down my chin.  It’s disgusting.  Do I care?

Talking of indulgences, I read recently that a cimema chain is going to ban popcorn on account of it being noisy and messy.  This is wrong on many levels and I will be writing to my MP about it.  I can’t imagine watching a movie without my popcorn treat.  I do wish though that they’d get rid of those horrible little fingernail thingies that you always find in every bucket.  Do you know what I mean?  Those sharp hard bits that are totally unchewable and have a very similar sensation to fingernails that you’ve just bitten off.  They do kind of spoil my popcorn experience.

Apparently the same cinema chain that wants to ban popcorn considers itself a bit highbrow and would replace said popcorn with posh and trendy snacks such as sushi.  But think of the smell.

[Come on now.  We’ve all bitten our fingernails at one time or another]

10 responses to this post.

  1. These people don’t have the slightest how life works around. If I spread something on my bread I’ll try it to be thick enough to please my palate, otherwise I wouldn’t spread anything. LOL.

    Reply

  2. Absolutely Jose. Freedom to eat what we like, when we like and how we like it. Lol.

    Reply

  3. Sorry to be an old stick in the mud, but I applaud the popcorn ban unreservedly. The fact that I’ve always loathed the stuff may have something to do with it 🙂

    Reply

  4. Popcorn is wonderful stuff! And it’s quite a healthy natural snack. Well it is when it’s not covered in butter, sugar or salt at least.

    Reply

  5. Each to their own 🙂

    Reply

  6. Another fairground favourite of mine is candy floss which is utterly bad for you. It’s just nothing but air and sugar. Teeth-rottingly delicious. My kids don’t know I love it though because I won’t allow them to have it – well rarely anyway. Hypocrite that I am. 🙂

    Reply

  7. LOL do as I say children, not as I would like to do.

    Reply

  8. I know! It’s downright deceitful. 😉

    Reply

  9. Hmm, popcorn … I like. As for your average cinema going experience, it really is truely shite! Give me a funky independent any day baby. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Oh absolutely Matt. I love going to the Independent cinema’s near us.

    Me and my friend went to see Atonement the other week at our little Library theatre and it was so lovely and intimate.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

