Comments and sneezes spread diseases


Just lately I’ve become preoccupied with comments.  Sometimes, reading the comments of an article is more interesting than the article itself.  Some of the comments are so good that I want to grab the person who wrote it and kiss them hard on the lips, although I do realise that this could prove to be a hasty reaction.  And some of the comments are so bad that I want to grab the person who wrote it and  . . . wail and gnash my teeth.

The Mail’s comments system is the best one because it has ratings arrows that you can click up or down. If someone likes the comment, they can click the up arrow to give it a positive rating.  If someone else comes along and doesn’t like the comment, they can click the negative arrow and take away the positive rating.  And vice versa. I have to say, having the power to take away a positive rating from a disagreeable comment is really quite liberating and I usually find myself using this power on articles written for the Mail by the compassionately-challenged Mad Mel.  She has a bit of a following you see –  a sad bunch of like-minded numpties who praise and adore every bigoted word she writes so I don’t mind telling you that it’s strangely satisfying to spend an idle ten minutes or so de-rating all their ignorant and usually racist comments.

You have to be careful though because if you rush to tick, you might tick the wrong arrow and give them kudos instead of condemnation.  I did this to a comment stating that dead Palestinian children were worth the price.  I was mortified!  No matter how many times I tried, I could not unclick my positive click.

Anyway, I just read an article written by Caroline Lucas in today’s Guardian regarding swine-flu.  I agreed with much of it and some good points were raised but a comment posted by a reader amused me no end.  It’s written by someone who goes by the name of nega9000 . . .

5 Reasons to be cheerful about swine flu:

1. Vegetarians and vegans will get it too
2. The jobless figures will tumble
3. No possible way Gordon Brown can produce another one of those hideous videos of himself ‘smiling’ on Youtube
4. Staying at home and watching Jeremy Kyle will become a national duty
5. Jeremy Kyle may die

And I’m a vegetarian!  With nothing better to do than read reader comments.

Anyhoo, I’m off to watch a DVD.  And tonight’s choice, by sheer coincidence, is Babe.  Nah!  Is it heck.  It’s  The Story of the Weeping Camel and it took me ages to get hold of a copy so I’m expecting wondrous things.

But before I go, listen folks – you can joke all you like about this swine-flu but just remember that coughs and sneezes spread . . . much wealth among the pharmaceutical industry.  😉

Ta ta for now.

4 responses to this post.

  1. […] Original post by earthpal […]

    Reply

  2. […] Earthpal added an interesting post today on Comments and sneezes spread diseasesHere’s a small readingJust lately I’ve become preoccupied with comments.  Sometimes, reading the comments of an article is more interesting than the article itself.  Some of the comments are so good that I want to grab the person who wrote it and kiss them hard on the lips, although I do realise that this could prove to be a hasty reaction.  And some of the comments are so bad that I want to grab the person who wrote it and  . . . wail and gnash my teeth. The Mail’s comments system is the best one because it has ra […]

    Reply

  3. I am quite sure this swine flu has caused fewer victims than those “normal” flus we go through every year.

    At times I think it is because our politicians have got used to wield the “culture of Fear” that this flu has been so much stirred in the media. So as to keep us busy fearing something else than fundamentalists, WMDs, etc.

    Sadly poor sanitary conditions provoke more deaths. And it is not so wildly mentioned by the media.

    Reply

    • Jose, yes ‘rule by fear’ is the popular policy. Balance and common sense is what’s needed but common sense doesn’t sell newspapers.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

