In a Week of Political Aggravations


How’s it going folks?  Are we enjoying all the political shenanigans or are we totally exhausted by it all?  I must admit, I’m feeling a wee bit weary of the whole sordid business.  And aggravated.  But there’s little to be gained from blanket-bashing our MP’s just for the sake of it.  So I’m not going to.  Oh hell, of course I am.

The Commons speaker thing first, how did that happen? I mean, am I the only one who’s hmphing  like mad.  I can’t get my eyebrows down from off the top of my head at the bloody cheek of it all.  A cowardly lynch mob with their torches and pitchforks, baying for the blood of a convenient scape-goat?  Who the hell are they to feign moral indignation and demand his resignation while they stand in front of the reporters and say they’ve done nothing wrong – that everything they claimed for was above board so why should they quit their jobs.

Lordy, first they blame the evil system for forcing them at gun-point (read this, it’s bloody hilarious) to claim for blatant extravangances, then they blame that poor old Speaker chappie.  Well at the risk of exposing my total ignorance of the Parliamentary machine, I have to ask – just what evil deed did he do that was so bad it was actually good enough to redeem them of their collective indecencies?  Well whatever it was, it didn’t work.  We haven’t gone away and shut up about it.  We know who you are.  Sigh.  Apparently, it was his mishandling of the expenses affair (I do learn some things) that made them point the finger.  Ah, a mishandling of the mishandlings.   Well whether he mishandled their mishandlings or not, it seems to me that the bulk of the mishandling was done by the MP’s who grossly mishandled the spirit of the expenses rules.  T’is all a misunderhandling if you ask me.

We all know a coward when we see one.

And what about that Jacqui Smith!  She’s a nerve hasn’t she.  After years of indecently refusing to grant the Gurkhas settlement rights in Britain, she finally succumbs to people pressure by granting them what is deservedly theirs by merit, and she has the audacity (I’m grrring now) to say that she was proud to offer this country’s welcome to all who have served in the brigade of Gurkhas.  Yes folks, she’s actually trying to make herself look good. Don’t get me wrong.  I’m really happy about the U-turn but it was a hard-fought campaign that utterly shamed and embarrassed the government, yet Jacqui Hard-Face tries to make out that it was a gift from her very self.  I shake my head in bewilderment folks.  I really do.

We all know a diversionary tactic when we see one.

And just when I thought it couldn’t get any crazier, I discover that people are going ballistic about Nick Griffin’s Summer date with the Queen.  Folks, it probably won’t happen.  He is a convicted criminal.  The BNP is going to be there anyway whether we like it or not because Richard Barnbrook who is a member of the BNP and a democratically elected member of the London assembly, has been invited. And bless him , the love has decided to have a bit of fun with us by saying he’s going to take Griffin as his guest.  I reckon he’s just teasing us.  Anyway, meeting the Queen is no measure of respectability in my view.  She’s met many a toss-pot in her life-time so meeting one more is hardly going to shake the world, even if he is a Nazi.  She’s married to a Nazi-appeaser anyway isn’t she?  Maybe he’ll talk her into awarding him knighthood huh?  Now that would be a story!

We all know a toss-pot when we see one.

Anyhoo, ta ta for now folks.  I’m off to grrr at my kids now because they won’t leave me alone.  Kids huh.  Why do they need to be fed and watered?

Leave a Reply

