Sunday Mumblings


Two excellent articles in the Guardian this weekend that I’d like to comment on.

The first one, and the funniest (in a seriously true kind of way), is written by the brilliantly clever and funny comedian David Mitchell.  It’s aptly titled Spare me that rubbish about your rights.  Read it.  Its an excellent article with some very clever comments below.  Well done Guardian readers.  You can learn a lot from the comments.  I was surprised to find out from a guy called Jonibegood that in Germany you’re allowed to remove all the packaging from your purchased goods at the supermarket and leave it all there for them to dispose of – the benefits being that it incentivises supermarkets to be more eco-responsible about their packaging and it makes the consumer more aware too.  Good idea I say.

David also brings up the groaning, moaning anti-wheelie binners, the NIMFY’s.  He calls their anger ‘selfish rage’ and he’s bloody right.  I mean I shake my head in bewilderment at these people, I really do.  The whole article is super but my favourite paragraph is . . .

What’s crazy is that, in the face of environmental disaster, when councils are at last prioritising recycling in a way most scientists would describe as “much, much, much, much, much too slowly”, people are moaning about ugly bins rather than grasping a fairly simple opportunity to do their bit. So you have to keep the bins in front of your house? Well, keep the bins in front of your house then, you moaning bastard.

Brilliant!! And oh, I really, really ♥ David Mitchell.

The next article I enjoyed is called Vegetarian, and Proud by Seth Freedman.  Freedman is a lifelong vegetarian who asks why should he apologise for not eating animals.  His article seems to be partly in response to a prior article written by another vegetarian which is also worth a read in spite of the writer coming out with some silly stuff about about high profile celebs jumping on the vegetarian bandwagon and creating a kind of vege-moral snobbery.  And ironically, Seth’s article does kind of prove her point to a degree.

Anyway, he was born a vegetarian rather than becoming a born-again vegetarian.  I say born a veggie but you know what I mean.  Clearly, his parents made that life choice for him as an infant and as he grew, he never opted out.  Being a vegetarian is a life choice.  There should be no judgementation or ridicule by those who choose to eat meat.  My husband has a cousin and when we visit them for dinner etc., they make such a fuss about me refusing to eat meat that I’ve stopped going for meals now.  It just isn’t worth the aggravation.  I’ve never tried to make them feel guilty about their heavy meat-eating habits but equally, I don’t expect them or any other meat-eaters to give me a hard time either.  Most of my friends respect that I won’t eat certain things.  It’s no big deal.  There’s very little extra work or thought involved in providing a vegetarian option.  If I have people round for dinner, I cater for the meat-eaters too.  I’m not dogmatic about it although my husband does all the cooking when we have guests round which lets me off having to handle any meat.  The very idea of buying and touching meat would appall some vegetarians and that’s one of the problems of living with a family who all have divided opinions.  My husband and son both eat meat.  My daughters can live without it.  I don’t have the right to make them abstain just because I choose to live without it.  I think it’s much better to just provide the information, the facts and the figures and then leave them to examine their own consciences, without pressure.

Look there is a very good case for vegetarianism and Seth mentions all the main points but he does get rather smug and superior.  People hate being preached to. It tends to have the opposite effect of getting people’s backs up and I can just imagine the carnivores, instead of giving some thought to the vegetarian option, I can see them rushing out to the butchers and defiantly throwing whole cow rumps, roasted pigs and battery hens into their trolleys.  No, there’s no point in emotionally trying to convert them.  Just make sure the facts are available.

One thing I would say though at the risk of being preachy and (contrary as I so often am), as discomfiting as it may be for some, it’s an absolute fact that meat-eating has a huge  impact on the environment and it wouldn’t do anyone any harm at all if they would think about at least reducing their meat consumption.

3 responses to this post.

  1. usefull article . i’ll bookmark your blog

    Reply

  2. Great post!

    Reply

  3. Thank you Flash you spammer, you.

    All spam is welcome in these desperate days.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

