QT: To watch or not to watch


If I do watch it tonight, I think I’ll probably gnaw off my own face inside out before it finishes.

I usually avoid having any heavy objects around me when Question Time is on TV but tonight’s episode is going to be particularly difficult, mostly on account of Meanie (oops, did I lose an L there?) Philpots being one of the panellists but it’s not just her presence that will make me want to throw up.

Theresa May is also appearing.  Ms May is an MP that I dearly want to like, if only for the fact that she’s a determined female struggling against institutionalised sexism in a chamber full of cock-fighting old men, but there’s no getting around the fact that she’s a Tory thus utterly unlikeable and full of stupid ideas that are usually void of compassion.  Not that Labour is much better, a bit better but not much.

And no doubt we’re going to be put through all that disingenuous ‘expenses’ apologising again . . .  I tried to be as honest and open as possible, I didn’t do anything unlawful but I accept that the system was wrong, blah, blah . . . It’s all very dreary and repetitive.

Charlie Falconer, Tony Blair’s childhood friend, will also be honouring us with his unvalued opinions.  Well, not wishing to be shallow, it’s hard not to make judgements on him exclusively based on the fact that he is a close crony of TB and defended Alistair Campbell’s testimony in spite of not actually knowing what his testimony entailed, such is his loyalty.  But, shallow or not, I can’t think of anything positive to say about him so I shall judge him on his friendship choices.  And because I’m that way out tonight.

Clare Short’s on too and she will still be flying high from the Iraq inquiry so I’m expecting lots of self-righteous, soap-box rants from her followed by much applause from the audience.  I have a lot of admiration for Clare Short but she has been a bit of a flip-flopper hasn’t she, about important stuff such as war.  She did the right thing in the end though so I really shouldn’t bitch.

Ooh, and George Galloway, he’s on too.  We can be sure of a rant or two from him and it will probably include a totally justified anti-war rant.  I just wish the audience would control their emotions.  The thing that will make it all worth watching is when he rips into Meanie Zion Philpots.  Oh, I do hope he gives her a thorough shredding.  Metaphorically speaking of course.  I am a pacifist after all.

Ooh, I’ve talked myself into watching.  I actually can’t wait.  Ta ta.

By the way, did you know that 2010 is the International Year of Biodiversity?  Well it is.  More on this at a later date, if I haven’t ripped my face off.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I hope you did brace yourself up and stood to it, Earthpal. It’s good to watch and learn – well if there’s anything to learn from these politicians which I think there is not.

    Reply

  2. I watched it Jose and it was a bit of a disapointment. I was expecting some impassioned rants but it was all rather civil and boring. Lol.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

