On V Day


Just a quickie because I want to mention International Women’s Day before it ends.

If someone told me that one day I’d be onstage playing the role of an angry woman cursing and ranting about the pyscho products and nasty ideas that her vagina has to endure, I would have laughed and said get out of here.

But there I was.

Last night I celebrated IWD with a group of fantastic women and together we performed Eve Ensler’s play, The Vagina Monologues at the local library theatre.

At the start of this project I only knew one woman, my friend who is also my old belly-dance teacher.  I now have ten new and fabulous friends.

The play was a smash hit.  We rocked the house.  The audience were fantastic.  They loved us.  They laughed at the witty vulgarities, they whistled and cheered at the moans.  And they listened respectfully to the harrowing and sensitive monologues.

A great night out for the women and crucially, some very serious issues were highlighted.  The money from the ticket sales (and it was a sell-out I might proudly add) went to two women’s charities and I was chuffed to bits to be involved.

And just to end on a sobering thought . . . pregnancy is not a disease, yet it kills one woman every minute. Amnesty has a campaign going about maternal mortality and the injustice that 80% of those deaths are avoidable.  They are asking us to join their call for:

  • Increased international aid for maternal, newborn and child health.
  • Maternal, newborn and child health to be at the heart of all health systems.
  • Sexual and reproductive rights to be made a reality for women and girls

They have written a brilliant and compassionate Manifesto for Motherhood which they’re taking to the government.  It’s a thought-provoking and important read.  So have a look – you don’t have to be female.  It’s Mother’s day on Sunday.  Do it for your mums.



4 responses to this post.

  1. Proud to know of this, Earthpal. You haven’t disappointed those who really admire and respect you.

    Well done.

    Reply

  2. I’ve just been to look at the amnesty PDF, thought I’d come back and say thanks for leading me there. Free care at the point of entry is something we all enjoy in this country and something that we don’t always appreciate, this was a sobering document.

    I’m glad your performance was such a positive experience, it sounded great.

    Reply

  3. Thanks Goo. We take things for granted in this country and there’s nothing really wrong with that but it doesn’t hurt to be reminded of the grim reality . . . and speak out against it.

    I’ve just been looking at your website. It’s really good. Well done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

